Can archers in elevated terrain make ranged attacks while engaged?

By Randal, in Runewars Rules Questions

Hi,

Basically if I have archers in elevated terrain, and some enemies touching the terrain, can the archers still make a ranged attack against a different unit besides the one touching the terrain.

So my guess is no but if somebody could confirm this that would be great.

Thanks.

Based on the following rules, I think I agree with you:

  • 81.8 "If any part of a unit’s trays is touching a piece of terrain that an enemy occupies, the edge of that unit that is touching the terrain is treated as touching the front edge of the enemy unit."
  • 34: "If any part of a unit’s trays are touching any part of an enemy unit’s trays, those units are engaged ."
  • 65.2 "A unit cannot perform a ranged attack if it is engaged ."

Not only can it not make a ranged attack against other units, but it is required to make a melee attack against an engaged enemy.

23 minutes ago, Budgernaut said:

Not only can it not make a ranged attack against other units, but it is required to make a melee attack against an engaged enemy.

I'm guessing that you didn't actually mean that to come out quite like *** reads.

You are not required to make a melee attack with an engaged unit. You are still free to dial in any action that you'd like. Certain actions will just be canceled if you are engaged (March, Ranged Attack) but others still work (although the action may work a little differently while engaged). A melee attack against an engaged target is the only valid attack you are capable of making with that unit.

Of course, there are cards that have effects that may allow you to break some of the rules.