Destiny + It Binds All Things

By [Ace], in Star Wars: Destiny

Destiny: Remove any number of your Blue dice. Play a card from your hand for free that costs equal to or less than the combined value of the Blue dice you just removed.

It Binds All Things: Before you play a Blue upgrade, you may exhaust this support to decrease its cost by 1.

This interaction came up last night and I ruled that it works out due to the Before effect of IBAT lowering the cost and that the game would recognize that cost when resolving Destiny . Does this make sense?

The person who was ruled against tried to say you could not even try to play the card in the first place if it didn't qualify but that is expressly not true courtesy of the RRG, p14:

Quote

A player can attempt to play a card even if they do not currently have the resources for it, as the cost printed on the card can be altered by in-game effects.

Destiny says "play", IBAT says "before you play." I don't see a problem here. Two great cards that also synergize really well. Cool!

Wait, WHAT?! Zomg... so many new things to try here.

Mind = blown. Destiny is my card of the set for sure.