collision and attack facing question

By davepaulstanley, in Runewars Rules Questions

If Kari has collided and engaged with the reanimates in this position, can she attack without directly facing the reanimates? Does she have to do a reform movement in order to directly face the reanimates, then attack in a separate move?

pic 1.jpg

Yes, she can. A unit can melee attack in any direction. They may get a bonus for penalty depending on whether they are flanked or flanking.

Since neither of those units has it's front edge, neither is considered to be flanked or flanking.

This is a question that took awhile for me to find since its not directly mentioned.

If you look under "Flanking" it mentions that (from memory, not word for word here) "If a flanked unit attacks the defender, they do not benefit from their ranks"

Kari, not using ranks, would basically be completely unaffected by facing like that (well, she also wouldnt be flanking them so no bonus there)

edit: ninja....bah lol

Edited by Vineheart01
20 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

Kari, not using ranks, would basically be completely unaffected by facing like that (well, she also wouldnt be flanking them so no bonus there)

Kari would lose her reroll from Precise 1 if she was attack a unit that had her flanked..

7 minutes ago, WWHSD said:

Kari would lose her reroll from Precise 1 if she was attack a unit that had her flanked..

touche, i keep forgetting she has that ability. And its specifically acting like a rank not simply "reroll the dice" which is key.