questions after first play

By Robojoel, in Runewars Rules Questions

Played our first couple of games yesterday and really enjoyed this but a coulpe of things came up we weren't sure of:

-When attempting ot square up and trying ot slide so the bases are aligned what happens if a third unit is in the way to prevent this? Do you slide as far as you can until you also contact that unit and are now engaged with them as well? Do you just stay where you are without the bases being aligned? Or do you attempt to slide the unit you made contact with in order to be aligned?

-If you choose a ranged attack do you HAVE to do it? In a case yesterday I was intending to shoot the spearmen but they got wiped out before I could shoot so my only legal remaining target was the war golum who was already engaged with two of my other units, it was unlikely that I coulod wound it and it would panic the two engaged units so I didnt really want to proceed :/

1- I'm pretty sure you have to square up the trays, so if you cant slide one way to line them up fully you have to slide them the other. if you cant slide the other way to square up, then I'm not sure what to do abut it honestly.

2- I believe you can forgo your attack but I have no basis in the rules for that so I may be wrong.

1. If an obstacle gets in your way while squaring up you first try to slide your unit to a position where the obstacle won't interfere with squaring up. How you slide varies based on whether you made contact with the enemies edge or corner. Exactly how to do this is detailed in section 77.5 on page 18 of the RRG.

If you can't square up without hitting another obstacle then the unit is placed back in their initial position (before attempting to square up).

RRG, pg. 18: "Repeat these resolutions for any additional obstacles. Then, if it is still impossible for the moving unit to square up without colliding with an obstacle, the unit cannot square up and it is returned to the position it was in when it collided; the two units are still touching and are thus still engaged. "

2. I'm not finding anything in the RRG or Learn to Play book that makes it look like any dialed in actions are optional. The same sort of language is used to describe the move actions as it is the attack actions. Based on that I'd say that if you've dialed in an action, nothing cancels that action, and you can legally perform the action then you mist perform it.

Edited by WWHSD

I agree that nothing in the rules says you can choose to ignore actions or modifiers. On the one hand, that may be an oversight by the rules writers. On the other hand, there is something thematic about a unit of archers receiving an order to attack, then the battlefield changes so that their target is different than what the commander intended, but the commander can't issue a new order in time to stop them.

Cheers guys, very helpful :)



RR-4.4
During the Activation Phase, each unit must perform its selected action if it is able to do so.