Please help with these two.

By Mixxathon, in Runewars Rules Questions

1. Opponents General is in base contact with the swamp but have not entered it. I charge the terrain, occupy it and is now, since opponent is in base contact with the swamp also in base contact with me - therefore the charge succeeds?

2. I assault a big unit spearmen with a frontline golem from many sides, making it take casualties from all over the place (by taking casualties from the back rank counted from where the attack comes from) After an Uncertainty Morale result, the large unit turns 180 degrees and what previously were the front is now the rear, wich I attack and deals 10 damage to. In the new back rank there are 7 spearmen and the golem. How do we take the damage after having removed the seven spermen, leaving only the golem at the back.?

Great game - horrible rules :)

1 minute ago, Mixxathon said:

1. Opponents General is in base contact with the swamp but have not entered it. I charge the terrain, occupy it and is now, since opponent is in base contact with the swamp also in base contact with me - therefore the charge succeeds?

2. I assault a big unit spearmen with a frontline golem from many sides, making it take casualties from all over the place (by taking casualties from the back rank counted from where the attack comes from) After an Uncertainty Morale result, the large unit turns 180 degrees and what previously were the front is now the rear, wich I attack and deals 10 damage to. In the new back rank there are 7 spearmen and the golem. How do we take the damage after having removed the seven spermen, leaving only the golem at the back.?

Great game - horrible rules :)

1. That's a successful charge.
2. Casualties always come from the unit's rear rank. The front and the rear of the unit never change, no matter which direction the attack comes from.

Just now, WWHSD said:

1. That's a successful charge.
2. Casualties always come from the unit's rear rank. The front and the rear of the unit never change, no matter which direction the attack comes from.

We did the first one right. The second though, we were completely wrong. I envisioned the back rank as the rank that was opposite the attacker.

Thanks a lot for the help. That really cleared up a lot of questions.

I believe that when a Unit enters terrain, and after all effects of entering terrain are resolved, it immediately ends it's activation. (other actions and game effects are canceled)

Rule 81.2

Edited by rudedog
28 minutes ago, rudedog said:

I believe that when a Unit enters terrain, and after all effects of entering terrain are resolved, it immediately ends it's activation. (other actions and game effects are canceled)

Rule 81.2

RRG, pg 19:
"When a unit enters a piece of terrain that an enemy is
touching, those units resolve any effects of a collision as if
the unit had collided with the enemy"

I'm assuming that would include resolving the attack results from a collision from a charging unit.

I'm not 100% sure where the line gets drawn on "any effects of a collision". I'm on record as saying I thought that the Panic tokens from Impact 1 would count but the attack from charging wouldn't. The more I've thought about this the more I am of the opinion that you continue resolving effects and any effects that are triggered in turn until you have completely resolved anything that was initially triggered by a collision.

I might have a messed up rule book. On page 19, what bullet point are you quoting?

1 hour ago, rudedog said:

I might have a messed up rule book. On page 19, what bullet point are you quoting?

It's the third bullet point under 81.8. It's in the right hand column.

Thank you. I thought I was going crazy.