Alright, lets see if I can explain this without a picture!
When I first read the rules (and when I explained them to my group), I explained Strategize as allowing all units and heroes (all figures) as being able to move one hex, except for mountains and water boundries as appropriate.
When re-reading the rules with my wife, she pointed out that that is not the exact wording. The Strategize wording is: that units and heroes may move to an adjacent friendly or empty area. The rulebook on page 16 then explains that the figures may move to or from any number of spaces, as long as it ends its turn adjacent to the space it started.
To me, this means that if my figures start in a hex with mountain boarder on one or more faces, the figures can circle around it through multiple hexes and end their Strategize movement adjacent to their starting hex moving through multiple hexes, as long as all of the hexes traveled through are friendly or empty.
Is this correct? I am pretty certain it is, but want to make sure the RW community does bot explode saying that is rules lawyering and against the spirit of the game, etc. :+)
It does have huge implications for troop movement.