Strategize

By Asylur, in Runewars

Alright, lets see if I can explain this without a picture!

When I first read the rules (and when I explained them to my group), I explained Strategize as allowing all units and heroes (all figures) as being able to move one hex, except for mountains and water boundries as appropriate.

When re-reading the rules with my wife, she pointed out that that is not the exact wording. The Strategize wording is: that units and heroes may move to an adjacent friendly or empty area. The rulebook on page 16 then explains that the figures may move to or from any number of spaces, as long as it ends its turn adjacent to the space it started.

To me, this means that if my figures start in a hex with mountain boarder on one or more faces, the figures can circle around it through multiple hexes and end their Strategize movement adjacent to their starting hex moving through multiple hexes, as long as all of the hexes traveled through are friendly or empty.

Is this correct? I am pretty certain it is, but want to make sure the RW community does bot explode saying that is rules lawyering and against the spirit of the game, etc. :+)

It does have huge implications for troop movement.

Asylur said:

The rulebook on page 16 then explains that the figures may move to or from any number of spaces, as long as it ends its turn adjacent to the space it started.

Not exactly. Page 16 says "A player may move his figures to or from any number of areas" which basically means you may move units from any

of your hexes, as long as every unit moves only once and not out of an activated area.

Nevertheless, I can't find any rules contradicting your interpretation. So, according to the rules, this would be a legal movement.

I don't think it was intended that way, however.

My thought was if it only intended you to move one space, why were the rules not written as such explicitly. To keep this from becoming another rules lawyering/flame thread I have an answer.

On the bottom of page 16 there is a Strategize example. Step two of the example states that the knight may not move into hex 6A due to the mountain. There is a path from the allowed strategize hex to the hex to the lower right then to 6A that wuld circumnavigate the mountains and only pass through empty hexes. Since the example clearly states that moving to 6A is not allowed, and since there is a clear empty multiple hex path to 6A, it must be that Strategize is NOT intended to be used this way.

The same question occurred to me the first time I read the Strategize order in the rulebook, and I came to the same conclusion from the example.

Asylur said:

The rulebook on page 16 then explains that the figures may move to or from any number of spaces, as long as it ends its turn adjacent to the space it started.

This is simply another example ( the umpteenth ) of poor and confusing wording IMO.

What they really are trying to say IMO is :

" Any or all figures may move 1 space to an adjacent friendly or empty space.

Figures may not move out of an activated area. Mountains and water borders work as normal. "

I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to move a unit multiple ( friendly or empty ) area's to finally end up in an area adjacent to the one you started the turn in.

Asylur said:

My thought was if it only intended you to move one space, why were the rules not written as such explicitly. To keep this from becoming another rules lawyering/flame thread I have an answer.

On the bottom of page 16 there is a Strategize example. Step two of the example states that the knight may not move into hex 6A due to the mountain. There is a path from the allowed strategize hex to the hex to the lower right then to 6A that wuld circumnavigate the mountains and only pass through empty hexes. Since the example clearly states that moving to 6A is not allowed, and since there is a clear empty multiple hex path to 6A, it must be that Strategize is NOT intended to be used this way.

I agree with this post. The picture of the strategize movement ( 16) shows the knight's movement options as each of the hexes one space away. It then says in the example (#2) "Note that there is only one area that hte Knight could move into ..." If it was possible to move any number of empty/friendly hexes as the OP's wife was hypothesizing in order to eventually get oneself into an adjacent hex, then it wouldn't state so clearly that the knight only has one hex to which he can move.

DarkElf said:

Asylur said:

The rulebook on page 16 then explains that the figures may move to or from any number of spaces, as long as it ends its turn adjacent to the space it started.

This is simply another example ( the umpteenth ) of poor and confusing wording IMO.

What they really are trying to say IMO is :

" Any or all figures may move 1 space to an adjacent friendly or empty space.

Figures may not move out of an activated area. Mountains and water borders work as normal. "

I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to move a unit multiple ( friendly or empty ) area's to finally end up in an area adjacent to the one you started the turn in.

i would say this is correct after reading the rules threw and looking at the cards. IT is clearly stated that on page 17 that fast units are restricted in movemt do to the Strategize card. I believe it is intended for moving any number of units 1 space. so you can move everything one space with normal restrictions applied.

As quoted, the rule says "move his figures to or from any number of areas". It doesn't say the units in question move THROUGH any number of areas. Instead, what it's saying is:

The units moving can come from any number of different tiles; they don't all have to come from the same tile.

The units moving can end in any number of different tiles; they don't have to all end in the same time.

Any specific unit must end in an adjacent tile. With the example as a guide, this is basically saying "each unit that is moving can move 1 space".

I'll agree it's not the most clear, but Corey's ruling isn't at odds with the rulebook as written.