Rules summary (including all official rulings)

By Clamatius, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

gamjuven said:

Okay I am a little confused. I printed out the official faq from the website, and then I see this thing. And some of the rulings aren't official? Why the heck are they posted like faq if it isn't official?

My main issue right now is figuring out this toughness thing, cause that's an obvious change to the original rules in the original rulebook. So when assigning damage, do we have to account for toughness now? Before all you had to do is assign damage equal to the life (not counting toughness, although you could assign more to destroy the figure by accounting for toughness). Now there is a "faq" that is saying that you now have to assign while taking into consideration for toughness? This is very annoying. I don't know who to trust. People are claiming: "This is true! I am right! This is the actual ruling", but it doesn't look like they are actual employees of the company at all.

So what is it? If there is a unit in front of me with 2 hitpoints and toughness 1, do I have to assign 2 or 3 damage before assigning to the capital? Is accounting for toughness mandatory or a choice? That is a major difference that is not addressed in the official downloadable faq, but is claimed to be different. What's going on?

Thanks.

Everything in the FAQ posted on the support page is official. Some of the rulings that you find here were handed down before the FAQ existed, so they were official but not gathered into a single document. Some were also ruled based on the original rules so when those rules changed some of the official rulings were changed also. That would account for any discrepancies between the emails sent out by Nate French and the FAQ. Rulings that have been sent out post FAQ were written by James Hata but are not part of the FAQ yet. When enough of them are out there will be an updated FAQ.

bump

With regard to the Counterstrike thread, I think this summary is missing one official ruling:

"1. Do I need to have already declared attacking/defending units to get bonuses from cards like Waaagh!/Striking the grudge/Grudge Thrower. For example, if I use those mentioned cards during my Capitol Phase, or Kingdom, do i get the bonuses?

answer from James Hata

1. No, you do not have to have the units already declared attacking or defending to play the card effect. WAAAGH! and other similar card effects do not actually target the units (as they do not say target in the card effect text). They instead create a continuous effect that waits for the appropriate time to provide the bonus. So, you could WAAAGH! during your capitol phase if you choose to, but the effect would not provide a bonus until you declare attackers."

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

Updated. Thanks a lot Dam, much appreciated!

You might want to add this :

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=140&efcid=4&efidt=317045&efpag=2

About the Deathmaster Sniktch :

" "I have been mulling over the Deathmaster. Was everyone playing it that "remaining HP" equaled original HP minus any damage? I guess with just about everyone there playing Skaven they all wanted that interpretation."

James told me specifically at the event that "remaining hps" is not affected by how much damage is on a unit. I dont know why they worded it that way."

Updated with the Deathmaster's templating fail. Thanks Supa.

I also added a note on redirection of counterstrike damage since that's come up a couple of times. I don't have an official citation for that one but I'm 100% sure that's the way it works - if anyone has a link for it that'd be great.

Could you add the date of the last update to the first post?

It would help greatly, by avoiding to that to scan all the replies.

Decent idea. I'm sure I will forget to update the date at some point, so I'm going to go ahead and preemptively apologise for that right now. happy.gif

Updated to add the restricted targeting stuff for Deathmaster Sniktch and Har Ganeth. Yet another thing our group was misplaying, apparently.

I also added a clarification on Har Ganeth that you can reduce a units hitpoints, then bounce it, because it seems some people were still unclear on that one.

Added rulings for Repeater Bolt Thrower, Harpies and Alluring Daemonettes.

Don't know if already posted at these forums, but didn't read at this thread. A mate at the EDGE forums asked James about Blessing of Velaya duration, and got this:

Hi,

Unless otherwise stated, card effects will end at the end of the turn.
This means that blessing of valaya's effect will end at the end of the
turn.

Hope this helps

James

Found it & updated accordingly. Thanks Tobogan!

You are missing the ruling on Dwarf Cannon Crew that says you do not have to play a support card that you find in the search if you do not want to. The link to the discussion is here www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

Added. Thanks RexGator!

Updated with the Glittering Tower ruling. Thanks RexGator!

I was pretty sure that we had that one right, but it's always nice to get confirmation.

Has end of turn stuff been touched on? Namely combo of Blessing of Valaya played on say Thyrus Gorman. Is BoV still in effect when TG takes the dmg from himself or has the effect ended?

I think the current ruling would be that Blessing of Valaya lasts until the end of the turn and Thyrus Gorman takes the damage when the turn ends. Therefore, Blessing of Valaya would not affect this damage.

RM

No, I don't think it's been addressed. I would speculate that you would pick the order as with all the other things that happen at the same time, i.e. you choose Thyrus's self-damaging to happen before Blessing wears off, but there hasn't been an official ruling on it. Feel free to send it in.

Let me clarify. I know this particular issue hasn't been addressed, but there was a more general ruling that, unless otherwise stated on the card, effects only last until the end of the turn. You could say that the end of the turn triggers the end of the Blessing of Valaya effect. The end of the turn also triggers the damage on Thyrus Gorman. As such, Thyrus Gorman should still take damage.

RM

deashira said:

Let me clarify. I know this particular issue hasn't been addressed, but there was a more general ruling that, unless otherwise stated on the card, effects only last until the end of the turn. You could say that the end of the turn triggers the end of the Blessing of Valaya effect. The end of the turn also triggers the damage on Thyrus Gorman. As such, Thyrus Gorman should still take damage.

RM

Hi,

The answer is correct but the description about why is not, or at least not clear. :)

Blessing wears of at the end of turn (as deashira says), but Thyrus ability is triggered after the end of turn (so it is NOT triggered by the end of turn, but by the end of the end of turn.

Sy by timing blessing wears of at your Phase 5, while Thyrus ability triggers when Phase 5 is finished before your opponent Phase 0.

Cain

There is also the FAQ change that all effects that happen "after.." are meant to happen "when".

"All instances of “after” in card text boxes
should read “when.”"

Dam said:

There is also the FAQ change that all effects that happen "after.." are meant to happen "when".

"All instances of “after” in card text boxes
should read “when.”"

Oops, I just forget about it. :-/

Well, then the owner could decide the order for his forced effects at EOT, so Thyrus could be defended.

Of course, Blessing of Valaya isn't a Forced angel.gif .

Dam said:

Of course, Blessing of Valaya isn't a Forced angel.gif .

True, but e are talking about it's finishing moment, which is hardly an action. ;)

Clamatius said:

No, I don't think it's been addressed. I would speculate that you would pick the order as with all the other things that happen at the same time, i.e. you choose Thyrus's self-damaging to happen before Blessing wears off, but there hasn't been an official ruling on it. Feel free to send it in.

... yeah. Let me know when you get the ruling - till then I'd play it that way.