Is attaching a card to a unit counts as card effect? After last FAQ I know, that it's not an action and I can't stop it with Iron Discipline. But what about Church of Sigmar? Does the opponent needs to pay addictional resources to attach my units with his attachments?
Rules summary (including all official rulings)
Itrogash said:
Is attaching a card to a unit counts as card effect? After last FAQ I know, that it's not an action and I can't stop it with Iron Discipline. But what about Church of Sigmar? Does the opponent needs to pay addictional resources to attach my units with his attachments?
From my understanding of the ruling on Iron Discipline in the FAQ, playing an attachment is an action, but not an "Action:", the latter being what Iron Discipline affects.
Based on what Clamatius has told me (that James told him) they still have to pay extra resources to target with attachments while Church of Sigmar is in play, because the ruling on Iron Discipline should have actually been errata. If you just went by what they wrote in the FAQ, however, then you should assume you don't have to pay, since the FAQ infers attachments are not actions.
There's a decent rules case to be made either way using the currently printed rules, but I would expect that when its clarified, then Church of Sigmar will make enemy attachments pay 1 to target your units.
Based on what Clamatius has told me (that James told him) they still have to pay extra resources to target with attachments while Church of Sigmar is in play, because the ruling on Iron Discipline should have actually been errata. If you just went by what they wrote in the FAQ, however, then you should assume you don't have to pay, since the FAQ infers attachments are not actions.
But the text on Church of Sigmar doesn't say, that opponent can't target my units with "Actions" It says, that he cannot target my units with "card effects" That's why I'm asking. Attaching units with card effects isn't an Action, it was already cleared up. But is it a "card effect" ?
Actions are card effects, and so is just about everything else. According to the FAQ "
There are four different types of card effects in the Warhammer: Invasion LCG. These are: actions, forced effects, constant effects, and keywords.
"
Since Church says:
"Opponents cannot target your units with card effects unless they pay an additional 1 resource per effect."
Then they can't target them with actions, which is why I was discussing the ID ruling. Attaching a card isn't an " Action ", but it is an "action". Therefore it is also a card effect, and is affected by Church of Sigmar.
Is it possible to spread Indirect Damage over several Units/Zones?
For example if I get 3 Indirect damage can I assign 1 point to 3 different units or does it have to go together?
Yes. You can assign it anywhere you want (other than burning zones). You also can't assign more indirect damage to a unit than it will take to kill it.
Quick question about Reclaim the Hold - if I put units from discard to one of my zone with this card, what will happen if I sacrifice them with Grudge Thrower and put them back with Stand Your Ground? Are they still sacrificed at the end of the turn?
Itrogash said:
Quick question about Reclaim the Hold - if I put units from discard to one of my zone with this card, what will happen if I sacrifice them with Grudge Thrower and put them back with Stand Your Ground? Are they still sacrificed at the end of the turn?
When you use Reclaim the Hold, the unit is put into play as a development. Can't use Grudge Thrower on developments.
ups, sorry. Meant Reclaim the Fallen. My mistake.
They will stay in play at the end of the turn. Cards leaving play to the discard are treated as new cards - they forget all the state they had in play. This came up with the Countess Iseara debate about whether units granted Necromancy keep it if they leave play (they don't).
Any idea when a new printer friendly version will be available for the latest version?
Repeater Bolt Thrower
Q. Can I use the Repeater Bolt Thrower's ability more than once in the same turn?
With the new FAQ is the answer NO? You only use one each turn.
Darthvegeta800 said:
Any idea when a new printer friendly version will be available for the latest version?
I've put one up at the link in my signature.
There is also an updated version of the condensed printable rulebook I made, with all the FAQs merged into the original rules. It has headings now so its easier to navigate, but some of the headings are still messed up, haven't completed fixed that.
darlethman said:
Repeater Bolt Thrower
Q. Can I use the Repeater Bolt Thrower's ability more than once in the same turn?
With the new FAQ is the answer NO? You only use one each turn.
Entropy42 said:
Darthvegeta800 said:
Any idea when a new printer friendly version will be available for the latest version?
I've put one up at the link in my signature.
There is also an updated version of the condensed printable rulebook I made, with all the FAQs merged into the original rules. It has headings now so its easier to navigate, but some of the headings are still messed up, haven't completed fixed that.
Thanks will print it as soon as I switch comps. Thanks for the work! It makes things much easier on us!