Damage?

By Adun42, in Runewars Rules Questions

Newbies, first game - turn 2. I did search to see if this had been posted before but couldn't find it.

trying to interpret the rules: 22.1
"Each time a figure is assigned an amount of damage equal to its defense value, that figure suffers one wound."

Scenario:

Rune Golem crashes into a Carrion Lancer with Natural magic at 2 = meaning threat = 3 (please feel free to correct any assumptions we made).

The Golem rolls 2 hits x 3 threat = 6 damage.

Intuitively the carrion Lancer soaks up 2 damage and takes 4 wounds, but that does not appear to be what the rule says:

3 ways to interpret:

1) 6 damage equals or exceeds 3 defense, so the Carrion Lancer receives 1 wound

2) 6 damage equals the 3 defense applying 1 wound, then there's 3 more damage, and that equals defense, so apply a second wound = 2 wounds.

3) 6 damage, 3 damage equals defense = 1 wound, but there is still 3 damage left for a total of 4 wounds.

What'd we miss?

Which one is right?

Edited by Adun42
11 minutes ago, Adun42 said:

Rune Golem crashes into a Carrion Lancer with Natural magic at 2 = meaning threat = 3 (please feel free to correct any assumptions we made).

Natural energy is the green runes; stable energy is the blue runes. The Rune Golem's Brutal ability is affected by the stable, blue runes.

12 minutes ago, Adun42 said:

2) 6 damage equals the 3 defense applying 1 wound, then there's 3 more damage, and that equals defense, so apply a second wound = 2 wounds.

This is the correct interpretation. It isn't completely straightforward in the rules reference, but let's look at 22.2:

"When assigning damage to a figure, enough damage must be assigned to wound the figure before damage can be assigned to another figure."

This basically establishes that assigning enough damage to deal a wound is a "stopping point" in the process of assigning damage. At that point, you can begin to apply damage to another figure or to the same figure. So if you had 6 damage to assign, then as soon as you assign one to the Carrion Lancer, you must assign at least 2 more to meet its defense value and cause it to suffer a wound. Now you have 3 damage left to expend. You may choose to assign it to the Carrion Lancer figure again, assigning 3 damage to cause it to suffer 1 wound.

Thanks, right - the blue square ones.

Thank you!!!