34 minutes ago, kaffis said:The 1 movement is specifically designed to be the length of a tray, and the close-in rules use that fact, along with the rules for legally squared-up engagements (where trays have to be lined up in a grid) to implicitly guarantee that you will collide with a perfect edge-to-edge anywhere along that movement, necessitating you squaring up again to perfectly occupy the vacated tray's spot if you choose to close-in in that direction. They've written the close-in rules the way they have to specifically avoid having to very carefully measure and then get disappointed because you weren't precise enough earlier when squaring up. Stop making it more complicated than it is by trying to ask where along the movement the parallel edges collide. a) It doesn't matter because you'll just have to square up and align to the grid anyways, and b) the entire point of the close-in rule is to guarantee that you will at some point without bogging the game down in a five-minute argument over whether you nudged things to get them to collide.
A secondary effect of the close-in move is that, unsurprisingly, units that are dealing significant damage to their enemy can press the advantage by continuing (or moving in) to flank.
That's all great, but then, do you think you rotate your tray after closing in or not? That's the question we're currently stuck on.