Valkia The Bloody action

By Aryan, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Hello, this is my first post and i'm afraid i will spam this forum with dozens of questions. :) The rulebook just seems not be clear enough.

Firstly, we have this chaos hero Valkia. Her action says: 'Spend 2 resources to move any number of damage on this unit to a target corrupted unit.'

Let's assume there is a corrupted unit on the table and valkia is in the quest zone. My opponent is attacking for let's say 4 pts of dmg (her HP is 4). Now, after the damage is assigned or even dealt, can i use my action to move all the damage to a corrupted unit.

So what happens? a) sorry, she's dead b) she can move all the dmg to another unit

And if the answer is 'b', what happens if the damage assigned to my quest zone is 10 and she is the only defender? will she only be able to move 4 points of dmg, or is she able to move all 10 as she is stille alive so the zone is beaing defended?

best regards

Some points :

- If she gets enought damage to be killed then you have no chance to move the damage.

- You can only move damage which is already applied.

- Your question B. don't make any sense by the rules. :) Valkia could move damage only on her, not on the Capital.

According to the flowchart, there is an action window between assigning and applying damage. So actually she isn't dead yet, aight?

And to the next part of Aryan's question. It's quite complicated to me but it might make sense. Why? Because to assign damage to the capital, defenders must be dead already. According to my first sentence of this post, she hasn't died yet so there is no option for capital zone damage assigning.

Maybe we are both (me and Aryan)wrong from the very beginning of the discussion, but if we really are, could you please tell us why? ;)

Yes, there is an action window... but damage not yet applied is not on Valkia... so cannot be moved by her ability.

And no, it's a misunderstanding... the defender don't have to be dead, only the opponent have to assign as much damage to the defenders as many hitpoints they have. So in this case it dont matters what is Valkia's ability... the opponent just deal 4 damage to her and the rest to the capital.

It's a major difference, for example when the opponent unit have toughness !

However : if you increase Valkia hitpoints above 4 (with We Need Your Blood) after 4 damage is assigned but not applied to her then you have the option to move the damage from her until the end of turn ;)

It may be a language problem, but if you read the rules carefully all the answers to your questions are there.

  1. When you assign damage you simply take the pooled damage and place it near the various units and zones you wish to have it applied to.
  2. In order to assign damage to the zone you need to first assign as much damage to any defending units as they have hit points. It does not matter whether this will kill them or not, whatever number of HP they have that is the minimum number that must be assigned to them. You may over-assign damage to bypass Toughness or any other potential damage cancel, but you are not required.
  3. When it is time to apply damage toughness and any other damage cancel takes place first, and only then is all assigned damage simultaneously applied and moved onto the card or zone. Because all damage is applied simultaneously it does not matter if the defender(s) live or die, the capital had damage assigned to it so it is applied at the precise same time the unit damage is.
  4. Only when the damage is actually on the card or capital board can it be moved. IOW after the apply damage step, meaning the zone must not burn and Valkia must still be alive in order for the damage to be moved somewhere else.
  5. Assigned damage can be redirected or reassigned by card effects, but no card effect as of yet states that you may move assigned damage, they all say damage ON the unit or zone.

This makes it clear, thx.

Sorry for a little off-topic but I'd like to refer to Dormouse's post.

I don't know for sure whether I understood you correctly. I'll show you a particular situation which you may do justice to me cool.gif When I have 1 Hammerer of Karak Azul in Kingdom. He has still 2 hit points. My Kingdom has 1 hit point LEFT. I don't have any support which cancels one damage to the capital.

My opponent, for example Orks, has hmmmm Black Ork Squad with Choppa. In equal he has 3 damage in his command. He's attacking my Kingdom.

So now, he may assign only 2 Damage to my Hammerer and 1 to my Kingdom? You said that my opponent DOESN"T HAVE to overassign damage, that he may assign only as much damage as many hit points does my defender have printed, and then attack my Capital. Is that true?

If it works like that, almost all of my previous games were played awfully against the rules :o

I think it works this way that the over-asigned damage hit's the capitol after all declared defenders are finished. No sooner.

pancerek said:

Sorry for a little off-topic but I'd like to refer to Dormouse's post.

I don't know for sure whether I understood you correctly. I'll show you a particular situation which you may do justice to me cool.gif When I have 1 Hammerer of Karak Azul in Kingdom. He has still 2 hit points. My Kingdom has 1 hit point LEFT. I don't have any support which cancels one damage to the capital.

My opponent, for example Orks, has hmmmm Black Ork Squad with Choppa. In equal he has 3 damage in his command. He's attacking my Kingdom.

So now, he may assign only 2 Damage to my Hammerer and 1 to my Kingdom? You said that my opponent DOESN"T HAVE to overassign damage, that he may assign only as much damage as many hit points does my defender have printed, and then attack my Capital. Is that true?

If it works like that, almost all of my previous games were played awfully against the rules :o

Yes, your opponents could (and I think should) deal 2 damage to the Hammerer and one damage to capital.

I've checked in the rulebook. Cain is right. Only as much damage need to be assigned as many hit points defending units have. All the rest is assigned on the capitol. That nerfs dwarfs badly.

This means that putting guys with toughness on Kingdom and Quest is useles, except for some special circumstances of course ;)

pancerek said:

This means that putting guys with toughness on Kingdom and Quest is useles, except for some special circumstances of course ;)

Well, if your opponent doesn't overassign on Units with Toughness, you still have them around, meaning they provide Resources or card-draw (and Loyalty). And are available to sacrifice for Grudge Thrower and what not.

For sure, of course, but IMHO toughness is too worthful skill not to use it ;)

The rules are very specific about this. Defending units only need to have as much damage assigned to them as their current HP. IF you over assign damage to a unit, it does not magically get transfered to the zone if you kill the unit, it is just gone. The only reason to over-assign damage to a unit is to ensure you get rid of th enasty little bugger... and in the case of Dwarfs if you can't burn the zone, you are probably better off over-assigning the damage and kill the halfman with Toughness. It'll make burning the zone next turn that much easier as well as limiting his draw/resources/attack.

It doesn't Nerf Dwarfs, this is the way they were always supposed to be played. I think you may have been overpowering them, but they are still a great race to play and can seriously mess with other decks in the right builds.