Combat Shotgun ability with solo operator or taking point

By keostyriaru, in DOOM: The Board Game

Hi,

What is everyone's interpretation of this combination?

A doom marine uses the combat shotgun and then plays an additional shotgun (due to it being part of the card text). Is that two actions or one action?

After playing those can they then use sprint from Taking Point or Solo Operator?

I couldn't find anything in the rules that addressed this.

Still counts as one action for the 2 cards. The description of the combat shotgun (CS) says you may play an additional CS card with the movement restriction. Because the card itself is telling you to play it, it doesn't count as an action.

Think of it this way: normally a marine has 1 main action. But the card would allow him to perform both CS cards, without gaining speed from the 2nd. So he plays both.

Another example is the Armor card, where it specifically tells you to pick up a card even though it isn't your turn.

Hope that helps. ?

Edited by MeeKey

That was my train of thought as well. Unfortunately it's a fairly specific scenario so there was no explicit text saying how to handle it.

A bit late to the party, but the rules are pretty clear-cut here.

The Shotgun Maneuver card explicitly allows you to play a copy of itself again, if you have it, without the speed. This isn't an additional main action, it's an effect of the action you already took, i.e. playing the initial card.

Sprint tells you flat out, you can't Sprint if you take another main action. So you either take two main actions from cards you play, one main action (you're not required to use both, or you may only have 1 card that grants a main action), or you choose to Sprint as a main action.