Admiral Sloane Vs. ECM

By ManInTheBox, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

24 minutes ago, xanderf said:

Not exactly - the key point that required the FAQ entry on Sloane is that the Defender cannot spend the same defense token twice. Sloane spending it once is as the Attacker, so theoretically the Defender could also have spent it then (double-tapping it to burn it out). The FAQ clarified that this isn't the case.  

However , that's specifically in a vacuum without ECM - if you do have ECM, it specifically says that you can spend a defense token that was targeted by an accuracy (argument goes: whether the accuracy was used for its normal effect, or used to trigger Sloane).

So...it seems like it's still an open question on that. Not that an enemy would very often want to, but...Stele sitting off a down shield firing on a ship with 1 hull that has a green redirect and up adjacent shields? Happens kinda often, actually, and using ECM to double-tap a redirect after Sloane turned it red, to save the ship, may well be worth it...

The issue is already solved by the FAQ.

Electronic Countermeasures:

This card's effect does not allow you to do any of the following:

  • Spend a defense token while at speed "0".
  • Spend a defense token of a type the defender has already spent during an attack.
  • Spend a defense token more than once during an attack.

If a Sloane squad spent a defense token on your ship, that token cannot be spent again. ECM doesn't change that.

8 hours ago, xanderf said:

Not exactly - the key point that required the FAQ entry on Sloane is that the Defender cannot spend the same defense token twice. Sloane spending it once is as the Attacker, so theoretically the Defender could also have spent it then (double-tapping it to burn it out). The FAQ clarified that this isn't the case.

However , that's specifically in a vacuum without ECM - if you do have ECM, it specifically says that you can spend a defense token that was targeted by an accuracy (argument goes: whether the accuracy was used for its normal effect, or used to trigger Sloane).

So...it seems like it's still an open question on that. Not that an enemy would very often want to, but...Stele sitting off a down shield firing on a ship with 1 hull that has a green redirect and up adjacent shields? Happens kinda often, actually, and using ECM to double-tap a redirect after Sloane turned it red, to save the ship, may well be worth it...

7 hours ago, Astrodar said:

The issue is already solved by the FAQ.

Electronic Countermeasures:

This card's effect does not allow you to do any of the following:

  • Spend a defense token while at speed "0".
  • Spend a defense token of a type the defender has already spent during an attack.
  • Spend a defense token more than once during an attack.

If a Sloane squad spent a defense token on your ship, that token cannot be spent again. ECM doesn't change that.

Basically this.

Also note that there are two different points in the defense token section.

1. THE DEFENDER cannot spend more than one token of each token.

2. A DEFENSE TOKEN cannot be spent more than once during the same attack.

So yes, if Sloane spent a redirect you may spend ANOTHER redirect and no, you cannot spend the SAME redirect, not even with ECM.

8 hours ago, xanderf said:

Soooo...did this ever get solved?

If I'm using a Sloane bomber shooting a ship with ECM, does a Sloane-Accuracy bypass the ECM defense? Or does ECM still protect a defense token from being Sloaned?

Read the FAQ entry for ECM, p. 15.