Terrain and Engagement

By darkwood71, in Runewars Rules Questions

Greetings All,

I apologize if this has been asked before. I looked through the threads, but didn't see anything related. My question has to do with exiting/entering terrain and possible engagements due to contact with the terrain. So, here's the scenario from my last game.

1.) Unit A exits terrain with a move action.

2.) Unit A is placed outside of terrain with its rear edge in contact with said terrain.

3.) Unit B charges terrain.

4.) Unit B collides with and enters terrain.

So, the question is:

1.) Is unit B engaged with and now flanking unit A?

2.) Does unit B get a panic token (due to failed charge caused by colliding with empty terrain instead of unit A)?

3.) If unit B only moved, instead of charging, would it still receive a panic token?

4.) If engaged, what type of move must unit A make to disengage (this seems obvious, but it still feels strange that unit A can't just move forward)?

It seems that regardless of the circumstances, unit B will always get a panic token in this situation. We played it in the way we thought most consistent with the rules and logical, but I was curious what others thought (if possible, along with supporting references). Thanks in advance.

DW

1. Yes, B is now engaged with and flanking A
2. No, B does not get a Panic token because it is treated as if it had collided with an enemy unit.
3. Yes, unit B would receive a Panic token assuming that unit B chooses to move into the terrain instead of just colliding with it.
4. A would need to slide forward to disengage.

The question that you didn't ask was:

5. Does B get to attack A since B charged.

No, entering the terrain causes your activation to immediately end.

Edited by WWHSD
Fixed what I had wrong.

That's not actually correct. The terrain rules specifically state that if you enter unoccupied terrain that an enemy unit is touching, you resolve a collision.

Charge triggers on collision, so you both get to attack, and do not suffer panic.

6 minutes ago, Tvayumat said:

That's not actually correct. The terrain rules specifically state that if you enter unoccupied terrain that an enemy unit is touching, you resolve a collision.

Charge triggers on collision, so you both get to attack, and do not suffer panic.

I saw the bit about treating a collision with occupied terrain as if it was a collision with the enemy that is occupying it and totally missed that next line.

@Tvayumat is correct. 81.8, third bullet: " When a unit enters a piece of terrain that an enemy is touching, those units resolve any effects of a collision as if the unit had collided with the enemy."

So the charging unit does not receive a panic token, but they also do not get to attack because 81.2, second bullet, states: " After the unit resolves all effects of entering the terrain, its activation immediately ends. If it had a bonus action or other game effects to perform, these are canceled."

To be honest, I'm actually a little shaky on this last part. Charge is not a bonus action, but is it another game effect? What about Impact?

12 minutes ago, Budgernaut said:

@Tvayumat is correct. 81.8, third bullet: " When a unit enters a piece of terrain that an enemy is touching, those units resolve any effects of a collision as if the unit had collided with the enemy."

So the charging unit does not receive a panic token, but they also do not get to attack because 81.2, second bullet, states: " After the unit resolves all effects of entering the terrain, its activation immediately ends. If it had a bonus action or other game effects to perform, these are canceled."

To be honest, I'm actually a little shaky on this last part. Charge is not a bonus action, but is it another game effect? What about Impact?

I suspect that you would assign the token from Impact since because it is a result of the collision and you are instructed to in 81.8 to resolve any effects relating to the collision.

I could see an argument being made that the Melee Attack Action from a Charge is also an effect of a collision and should be resolved as well. I'm drawing the line between assigning a token and taking an action. I don't know if the rules directly support that interpretation but I think a line needs to be drawn somewhere and that one makes the most sense to me.

Edited by WWHSD

So when you enter a Terrain piece, you lose the right side of the dial, and that's the side with the charge (starburst) attack?

But the effect of me holding the Bull Pennon still goes off?

2 hours ago, Budgernaut said:

@Tvayumat is correct. 81.8, third bullet: " When a unit enters a piece of terrain that an enemy is touching, those units resolve any effects of a collision as if the unit had collided with the enemy."

So the charging unit does not receive a panic token, but they also do not get to attack because 81.2, second bullet, states: " After the unit resolves all effects of entering the terrain, its activation immediately ends. If it had a bonus action or other game effects to perform, these are canceled."

To be honest, I'm actually a little shaky on this last part. Charge is not a bonus action, but is it another game effect? What about Impact?

Ah, but resolving a collision counts as resolving an effect of entering terrain, and resolving a charge attack is part of resolving a collision, unless I am mistaken.

Charge specifically triggers on collision.

Edited by Tvayumat