17 minutes ago, Green Knight said:If wishes were Carrie Fisher...
But in the meantime... what will you do?
That's the point I'm trying to get at. If you play a game tomorrow how will you expect to resolve RLB in that game?
17 minutes ago, Green Knight said:If wishes were Carrie Fisher...
But in the meantime... what will you do?
That's the point I'm trying to get at. If you play a game tomorrow how will you expect to resolve RLB in that game?
4 minutes ago, Frimmel said:That's the point I'm trying to get at. If you play a game tomorrow how will you expect to resolve RLB in that game?
The way laid out in @Drasnighta 's Tourney FAQ.
It represents our last, best hope for...
(are you guys getting all my FUN quote tweaks?)
Just now, Green Knight said:The way laid out in @Drasnighta 's Tourney FAQ.
It represents our last, best hope for...
(are you guys getting all my FUN quote tweaks?)
Where might I find this helpful document?
Just now, Frimmel said:That's the point I'm trying to get at. If you play a game tomorrow how will you expect to resolve RLB in that game?
Although I very much doubt FFG will eventally rule it this way, for now I would advocate the following, permissive interpretation:
Each time you would activate a squadron, do one of the following instead:
1 hour ago, Green Knight said:If wishes were Carrie Fisher...
But in the meantime...what will you do?
I don't use the card and will let people play it as they wish. Nothing I can do in my area. They all voted orange and ignore me.
2 hours ago, Frimmel said:Where might I find this helpful document?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1M6J-ee0JzVWn46d22GdiX2-6CuzSYB_p93nJbU0LqcE/edit?usp=sharing
2 hours ago, DiabloAzul said:Although I very much doubt FFG will eventally rule it this way, for now I would advocate the following, permissive interpretation:
Each time you would activate a squadron, do one of the following instead:
- Deploy an unactivated squadron; or
- Deploy and activate a squadron (it cannot move); or
- Activate a squadron normally (if it it was deployed by this command, it still cannot move)
what about 4. deploy and activate a squadron (it cannot move) AND activate a squadron normally?
That is the MOST permissive interpretation, since if you are team purple, you can play it like its worded (choice 1 or choice 3), if you are team orange, you can do it by forum vote ( choice 1, 2, or 3), and if you are #teamFAQisErrata you can do choice 1, 2, 3, or 4?
In my home games we just decided that if we're going to use RLB, then for for each point of squadron strength a ship has it can either (at the risk of being really wordy):
1. Spend a token to begin Deploying as many squadrons as the player wishes up to their squad value, and then go through and activate each those set-aside squadrons(s) in turn, which really only means they can attack if possible (deploying being in lieu of movement, but not actually movement, so no benefits for ending a movement due to some skills)
2. Activate a squadron normally by moving/firing in any order, up to the max allowed by squad value like normal.
If mixing both styles, the player must start and finish completely with #1 separate from #2, but otherwise each style can be done in any type of order (example, a 4-squadron ship can do #2 with one squadron, then #1 with two squadrons, and then another squadron with #2.
On the other hand, the two of us are the only meta, so it's entirely possible we'll never care to even use the card once, in favor of things that bog the game down way less.
Edited by AegisGrimmAfter reading the FAQ, original Card and all of the posts here, I propose the following for the Rapid Launch Bays function…
4 tie fighters are placed aside at deployment
ISD w/ Rapid Launch Bays activates, reveals a coordinate command!
Place 4 tie fighters (unactivated) at range 1 of the ISD
Each tie fighter that was placed may now shoot, one at a time at a target (does not have to be the same target)
When each tie fighter shoots, it is now activated (NOTE: CAN NOT MOVE)
The ISD MAY NOT activate OTHER squadrons, it MUST be the squadrons that were placed (and no you can't place 2 and then activate 2 others)
ISD may now shoot (or use tokens, the activation continues as normal)
ISD moves
Rebel ship activates…. does things
The interesting point here is, you don’t HAVE to activate the tie’s. You can now activate them during the squadron phase as normal or activated by another ship during the turn (They CAN move during these activations).
12 minutes ago, Stovrose38 said:After reading the FAQ, original Card and all of the posts here, I propose the following for the Rapid Launch Bays function…
4 tie fighters are placed aside at deployment
ISD w/ Rapid Launch Bays activates, reveals a coordinate command!
Place 4 tie fighters (unactivated) at range 1 of the ISD
Each tie fighter that was placed may now shoot, one at a time at a target (does not have to be the same target)
When each tie fighter shoots, it is now activated (NOTE: CAN NOT MOVE)
The ISD MAY NOT activate OTHER squadrons, it MUST be the squadrons that were placed (and no you can't place 2 and then activate 2 others)
ISD may now shoot (or use tokens, the activation continues as normal)
ISD moves
Rebel ship activates…. does things
The interesting point here is, you don’t HAVE to activate the tie’s. You can now activate them during the squadron phase as normal or activated by another ship during the turn (They CAN move during these activations).
So... if I drop squadrons... and then activate other squadrons... can the ones I dropped be activated by another ship in the same turn, and can they then move during that activation?
2 minutes ago, Stovrose38 said:So... if I drop squadrons... and then activate other squadrons... can the ones I dropped be activated by another ship in the same turn, and can they then move during that activation?
Yes.
Drop 4 B-wings from an MC80... activate x-wings to intercept potential threats, Yavaris the B-wings... That seems a little, OP
2 minutes ago, Stovrose38 said:Drop 4 B-wings from an MC80... activate x-wings to intercept potential threats, Yavaris the B-wings... That seems a little, OP
It does. Be sure to remember
teampurple
when you're giving and especially when cursing the receiving of RLB goodness.
It looks like FFG opened the door to another question by reaching a "compromise" on the function of RLBs.
The question is: Can I place squadrons up to my squadron value and then activate non-RLB deployed squadrons?
Example: Can I deploy 4 squadrons via RLB, and then activate 4 squadrons that have already been deployed elsewhere?
FFG opened the door specifically by allowing you to hold off from activating squadrons deployed by RLBs (purple), thus allowing for a Yavaris follow up.
According to the text of the card, the squadron(s) deployed cannot move "this activation."
The card does not say, "this squadron cannot move if it activates."
Thus, pre-FAQ, the deployment and activation coincided with each other. You could not deploy the squadron without activating it. The only question was, when do you activate the squadron(s), which is what the FAQ partially resolved.
FFG has effectively errata'ed the card without actually issuing an errata.
This leads me to believe that Orange was the original intent, and in reaching a compromise ruling, you can now activate extraneous squadrons, which were not deployed by RLBs, in the same turn.
Edited by Warlord Zepnick
6 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:It looks like FFG opened the door to another question by reaching a "compromise" on the function of RLBs.
The question is: Can I place squadrons up to my squadron value and then activate non-RLB deployed squadrons?
Example: Can I deploy 4 squadrons via RLB, and then activate 4 squadrons that have already been deployed elsewhere?
FFG opened the door specifically by allowing you to hold off from activating squadrons deployed by RLBs (purple), thus allowing for a Yavaris follow up.
According to the text of the card, the squadron(s) deployed cannot move "this activation."
The card does not say, "this squadron cannot move if it activates."
Thus, pre-FAQ, the deployment and activation coincided with each other. You could not deploy the squadron without activating it. The only question was, when do you activate the squadron(s), which is what the FAQ partially resolved.
FFG has effectively errata'ed the card without actually issuing an errata.
This leads me to believe that Orange was the original intent, and in reaching a compromise ruling, you can now activate extraneous squadrons, which were not deployed by RLBs, in the same turn.
the e-mail is pretty clear IMO, yes you can do that.
5 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:It looks like FFG opened the door to another question by reaching a "compromise" on the function of RLBs.
The question is: Can I place squadrons up to my squadron value and then activate non-RLB deployed squadrons?
Example: Can I deploy 4 squadrons via RLB, and then activate 4 squadrons that have already been deployed elsewhere?
FFG opened the door specifically by allowing you to hold off from activating squadrons deployed by RLBs (purple), thus allowing for a Yavaris follow up.
According to the text of the card, the squadron(s) deployed cannot move "this activation."
The card does not say, "this squadron cannot move if it activates."
Thus, pre-FAQ, the deployment and activation coincided with each other. You could not deploy the squadron without activating it. The only question was, when do you activate the squadron(s), which is what the FAQ partially resolved.
FFG has effectively errata'ed the card without actually issuing an errata.
This leads me to believe that Orange was the original intent, and in reaching a compromise ruling, you can now activate extraneous squadrons, which were not deployed by RLBs, in the same turn.
At this point folks are either sticking with whatever their group decided or going with this that we're calling t e a m Oran ple :