After 23 pages of dead weight and back and forth let's start a bit fresh. Besides I am known for these so I might as well keep it up.
So post FAQ we have 2 sides. The first is possibly interpreting the card for advantage while ignoring the card and likely read the FAQ as an Errata.
They believe that if you can Place 3 squadrons you can still activate those 3 squadrons as part of the same Squadron Command (though this ignores the actual card itself)
The other believe that the card still takes precedent and that the FAQ is explaining that you still need to activate the squadrons separately.
So that if you have 4 squadrons to activate you may use 2 of those Activations to place 2 and the last 2 Activations to actually activate those squadrons.
I firmly stand in the second half of group becuase it makes sense to me.