A lot of things to confirm... a little help please, thanks!

By Torche, in Battlelore

Hi, I've been playing BL for a little over a month now and I would just like to confirm a few things... If someone could help me it would be nice, thank you! (if some of these questions have already been asked, I'm sorry)

1) Cards that add +1d (or any ammount of dice for that matter), do they have priority over terrain restricitions? (for example, using a "Leadership" card, can you now attack a unit on elevated terrain with 3d or 4d?)

2) When using the Battlelore card, do you include both of the players' hands in the re-shuffle process?

3) Can a ranged unit battle-back at point blank?

4) When ranged units attack and roll retreat flags, does the target have to retreat?

5) Is it legal to skip a turn or do nothing during your turn? in other words, I like the way my army is positionned, can I just throw away a command card and do nothing?

6) Does a mounted unit ABSOLUTELY have to move one space BEYOND gaining ground in order to perform a bonus attack? or can it just gain ground and attack?

7) When using the wizard card Creeping Doom, does the target of the spell have to be a VACANT hex, and if/when an ennemy unit walks on it, the effect is activated? or can you target an ennemy unit directly when casting it?

Thank you!

Torche said:

1) Cards that add +1d (or any ammount of dice for that matter), do they have priority over terrain restricitions? (for example, using a "Leadership" card, can you now attack a unit on elevated terrain with 3d or 4d?)

2) When using the Battlelore card, do you include both of the players' hands in the re-shuffle process?

3) Can a ranged unit battle-back at point blank?

4) When ranged units attack and roll retreat flags, does the target have to retreat?

5) Is it legal to skip a turn or do nothing during your turn? in other words, I like the way my army is positionned, can I just throw away a command card and do nothing?

6) Does a mounted unit ABSOLUTELY have to move one space BEYOND gaining ground in order to perform a bonus attack? or can it just gain ground and attack?

7) When using the wizard card Creeping Doom, does the target of the spell have to be a VACANT hex, and if/when an ennemy unit walks on it, the effect is activated? or can you target an ennemy unit directly when casting it?

1) Yes. The rules make this a bit confusing by calling the terrain a "maximum" - they should have called it a "base" number. Effects are always added arfter the terrain restirctions.

2) No. Neither hand. Only the card just played (BattleLore), the discard pile, and the Deck,. then do the same with the discard and deck of the Lore deck. Players always keep their hands.

3) Yes. It is considered in melee. But it can only battle back if it is bold and does not vacate it's hex.

4) Yes.

5) Yes. You must "play" a card but have the option to do nothing and simply draw again to end your turn. This usually happens because you have a bad hand and want to try for better cards. Remember if you play a Scout card as your "discard" you get to draw 2 cards and then discard one. So these are good cards to "discard" when you hand is bad,

6) You MUST gain ground into the vacated hex if you want to battle again. You do NOT have to pursue in order to battle agaion. Remember that terrain effects are still in play so gaining ground or pursuing may prevent you from battling / moving anyway.

7) The "attack" is immediate. If you don't hit anything, there is no lingering effect. Usually, if there is no marker, there is no lasting effect as the game doesn't require you to remember things. So you would a hex and roll dice against a unit in that hex. Then do it agains for each of the 6 (possible) hexes surrounding that target hex. However, any of the hexes, including the target one, may be vacant. So in other words, this is an "area attack" that targets up to 7 different hexes which may or may not include enemy targets.

Hope that helps.

Thanks a lot for your help... wow this changes a lot of things, in all the games I've played so far, we respected the terrain restrictions whatever card you used...

and the way it's written in the instruction manual, I thought a mounted unit HAD to PURSUE to get a bonus attack, not only gain ground....

and the reason for my last question about Creeping Doom is that on the card it's written " Target: 1 battlefield hex " and not " 1 ennemy unit " like on other cards, that's why I was confused... thanks again.

Torche said:

...and the way it's written in the instruction manual, I thought a mounted unit HAD to PURSUE to get a bonus attack, not only gain ground....

Probably an unnecessary clarification here, but a mounted unit does need to "make a pursuit action" in order to make a bonus melee attack. It is in the section explaining Pursuit Action where it is detailed that simply gaining ground (or moving back to the original hex with the +1 hex movement) is still considered a pursuit action by a mounted unit.

As your post title said, lots of little things in this game ;) , though they typically make sense and don't hinder game flow after getting them under ones belt.

Yeah I know, but the core of the game isn't complex at all, there's just a lot of little things that need some clearing up... and the "center to center" rule for a unit's line of sight can be tricky sometimes, touching just a tiny part of a hex...although I'm sur I will get used to it soon...

Thanks.