Powers and Initiative

By Ilderfant, in Star Wars: Force and Destiny RPG

So an interesting issue came up after playing our Edge/Force & Destiny campaign today, having to do with Initiative and how certain Force Powers affect it.

So the question is: if the force wielder has several powers that can be used together with Initiative, to give him more successes and such, can they all be rolled together when rolling for Initiative? Farsight and Foresee both affect Initiative, and if you're playing Chronicles of the Gatekeeper, Warde's Foresight can also do this.

Can a Force-wielder with all these powers roll three Force Dice when rolling a Vigilance-based Initiative check?

-E.

Only if the Force-wielder has Force Rating 3.

You only get to use a die once per action, not multiple times. You can split your Force Dies among various powers, though, if the rules don't preclude you from combining them in one check.

Technically, the devs have specified that you can only use ONE Force power on any one roll. So you can use Foresee to add successes to your (and possibly your friends') initiative check, use Warde's Foresight to add Successes (or Advantages) on your first check of the encounter, or use Farsight to add Success or Advantage to your check, if it's Vigilance. You could not mix and match for different effects.

However, I personally dislike this. Now, Initiative is a sort of fringe case, but generally I allow multiple Force powers that add to the same roll to be used congruently, although you still only roll your Force Rating once. So if you have FR 3, you'd still only add 3 Force dice to your roll, but you could spend Force points that you generate to add Successes to your check, activate the Magnitude and Range (and final Control) upgrades of Foresee, as well as spending them on adding symbols to your first check via Warde's Foresight. If it was a Vigilance check, you could also add Advantage courtesy of Farsight, but that would be relatively useless, as it's mostly Success that matters on Initiative.

Keep in mind, though, that this is most assuredly a house-rule, and the devs have been 100% clear that RAW is pick your power, that's the only one you get on that roll.

By the rules, you only get to use one Force power to affect initiative, even if you have multiple Force dice to roll. It's part of the game's balance to avert the mistakes of prior Star Wars RPGs where Force users pretty much ruled the roost, especially for mixed campaigns like Ilderfant's where not all the PCs are Force users.

So if you've got Foresee, Farsight (for Vigilance), and Warde's Foresight, you'd have to pick one of them and spend your Force points in that particular method. It's up to the GM if you have to choose before you roll or after, but personally I'd allow the PC to make their choice after they rolled the Force dice; you're still only getting to benefit from one power, but at least you've got the choice of which power once you know what resources (Force points) you've got to work with.

Don't forget tho, there are Passive (and Active) Talents that you could use in conjunction with Powers.