same action twice?

By BadMotivator, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Just wondering if you can perform the same action twice. I saw no restrictions in the main rules from doing the same action multiple times if you are allowed multiple actions.

IE: can Vader barrel roll twice in a turn? Can Soontir boost twice if he has PTL? Etc...

You cannot.

" A ship cannot perform the same action more than once during a single round, even if one or more of the actions are free actions." from the Actions section of the Rules Reference.

OK, thanks. Missed that in the rules book.

Why is there no pilot ability that has broken this rule?

9 minutes ago, GrimmyV said:

Why is there no pilot ability that has broken this rule?

While there may be no ability that "breaks" that rule there ARE abilities that give extra Focus Tokens or allow for acquiring multiple Target Locks with a single Action.

6 hours ago, GrimmyV said:

Why is there no pilot ability that has broken this rule?

It is a really powerful ability, barrel rolling twice would be huge for instance, at extremes it is a broll with a 3 straight then a 1 forward or backwards, or could be done as 1 back or forward.

Boosting twice would be even worse, a white/green hard then 2 boost same direction is a turn around, or even just double forward on a small ship gives it the boost speed of a large ship (3 forward).

57 minutes ago, Oberron said:

It is a really powerful ability, barrel rolling twice would be huge for instance, at extremes it is a broll with a 3 straight then a 1 forward or backwards, or could be done as 1 back or forward.

Boosting twice would be even worse, a white/green hard then 2 boost same direction is a turn around, or even just double forward on a small ship gives it the boost speed of a large ship (3 forward).

Just dont give such a pilot an ept and its far from op.

1 hour ago, Vitalis said:

Just dont give such a pilot an ept and its far from op.

Unless your empire then you got the coordinate action, or rebels with the tie fighter that can spend a focus to give an action.

50 minutes ago, Oberron said:

Unless your empire then you got the coordinate action, or rebels with the tie fighter that can spend a focus to give an action.

Yes but that makes you build a squad around it, that tones it down.

Double Saboteur....

48 minutes ago, Vitalis said:

Yes but that makes you build a squad around it, that tones it down.

Yeah, it would be a mid ps pilot in something like a TIE or Z-95

32 minutes ago, Willy Jarque said:

Double Saboteur....

Too OP man, the meta cannot handle!

I think you could do it on a low PS ship and be okay. A high PS arc dodger would be about impossible to corral is they could multi roll or boost and that's already tough enough when they can do one then the other.

You might need to restrict it to things in action bars rather than upgrades though. Slicer tools, which is already decent, would suddenly be way better if you could try twice in the same turn.