Earlier today, in a game I was running, one of my players got an encounter at Arkham Asylum that gave him the option to take three clues and enter the Dreamlands. There happened to be a Dreamlands gate open with nobody currently inside so he chose to take that option. In the Other World Encounter phase, I drew the gate card that says: "You've completed your task, now you must escape before the portal closes! Pass a Speed(-2) check to return to Arkham. If you fail, you are Lost in Time and Space. In either event, you automatically close the gate you entered through."
Since he didn't actually enter through a gate, when he passed the roll I ruled that he came out at the open gate but that he would have to close the gate himself. Was this right or should this have been handled differently?