Jabba preview

By Timathius, in X-Wing

Well, at least you get a better cloaking device.

But yeah, he is no scum palp (pre or post nerf).

5 hours ago, Nhoj4 said:

Oh come on FFG, you messed up the wording on this one! Technically only the ship Jabba is equipped to can spend the illicit token because the wording on the card is "when YOU are instructed to discard an illicit upgrade..." "You" always refers to the ship to which the upgrade is equipped. So, while everyone can put illicit tokens on their ships, RAW only Jabba's ship can spend them...

The "you = the ship" thing is so idiotic to begin with. Can't they just write "this ship"? It's not that long! And it wouldn't feel so counter-intuitive and/or ambiguous.

FFG really needs to hire Mark Rosewater or somebody from WotC R&D for a few months to fix their wording templates (i.e. establishing some more coherent ones).

The problem with "fixing" the templates now is that you're 10/11 waves deep into a game. Changing the standard now causes further confusion as the cards start to intermix. I agree, the you/ship thing is poorly phrased, but it's better to have everyone understand one meaning than introduce a second meaning.
Trust me, my better half is a proof reader, and I've seen her lose the plot over these kind of sudden phrasing changes on projects she's worked on. It's better to have a keyword and stick to it if it's understood, and right now, it's understood.

5 hours ago, Engine25 said:

Once per opportunity. Works twice if you die twice. But that's no different because it doesn't discard. And no pilots can die twice, not even Tel Trevura.

What about Fel's Wrath? Not that he can take a deadman's switch backed by Jabba, but it's interesting to think about.

When the number of Damage cards assigned to you equals or exceeds your hull value, you are not destroyed until the end of the Combat phase.

Ok, so nevermind Fel's Wrath!

However, looking at Tel:

Quote

The first time you would be destroyed, instead cancel any remaining damage, discard all Damage cards, and deal 4 facedown Damage cards to this ship.

"The first time you would be destroyed" implies that you can be destroyed a second time. It's a _very_ weak implication, and I will _not_ argue for it. However, I want there to be a single case where deadman's switch works twice, because that's interesting and fun.

2 hours ago, dotswarlock said:

Quick question for those who have torn their eyes out studying the picture for the C-Roc; have all the upgrades been spoiled or are there 1 or 2 left? I lost track.

From what I can tell it looks like there is still one unaccounted for. Second row 5th from the right. It is in between the Croc turret and quick release cargo locks so it's probably epic only.

This should have read :

"When you equip this card put 3 illicit tokens on Jabba the Hutt .

Each ship in your squad gains one illicit slot.

When you are instructed to discard an illicit card from a friendly ship, instead discard one illicit token from Jabba the Hutt." 7 points.

You're welcome @FFG !

Edited by Mordj
34 minutes ago, Punning Pundit said:

I haven't yet read the 6 pages of comments, so maybe this has been covered, but...

Am I the only person sort of annoyed that they didn't use the EM tokens for Jabba? They are functionally identical, with the only difference being when a player gets to place the token on the card.

Heck! I would have preferred to have seen the " When you are instructed to discard an Upgrade card, you may discard 1 ordnance token on that card instead" text moved from the upgrade card to a rules card. But Jabba makes that much less likely. Oh well.

Yup that ticks me off. Ordnance tokens could have just been a generic mechanic with a rules card. Could have been so much more flexible.

10 minutes ago, Punning Pundit said:

What about Fel's Wrath? Not that he can take a deadman's switch backed by Jabba, but it's interesting to think about.


When the number of Damage cards assigned to you equals or exceeds your hull value, you are not destroyed until the end of the Combat phase.

Ok, so nevermind Fel's Wrath!

However, looking at Tel:

"The first time you would be destroyed" implies that you can be destroyed a second time. It's a _very_ weak implication, and I will _not_ argue for it. However, I want there to be a single case where deadman's switch works twice, because that's interesting and fun.

*would be* is the key point. If you would be destroyed and something else happens instead... you're not destroyed in the first place.

I think this is in the FAQ though.

4 hours ago, heychadwick said:

We will surely see the large based Scum ship with a primary weapon, though. We just have to wait for it.

I'm sure you meant huge ship. My bets on the Star Jewel. Which ironically is Jabbas ship...

@IG88E Who would have thought that we might get a use out of Munitions failsafe - that´ s gross. Excellent spotting.

@Punning Pundit If you would have a ship with both EM equipped and doubled Illicits by Jabba, there would be a slight risk of mistaking the tokens. Probably FFG thought it s better to have 2 different tokens to avoid any arguments on tournaments.

21 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

*would be* is the key point. If you would be destroyed and something else happens instead... you're not destroyed in the first place.

I think this is in the FAQ though.

Yup. I think you're correct, and for the reasons you cite. But I'd _almost_ be willing to see an errata change to Tel to make that combo work.

5 hours ago, Tbetts94 said:

It'd be cool if FFG just read their cards before releasing them. It doesn't take much to find these errors. If they release him like he is now it screws up so many other cards, then they'll need to errata him and we all would buy a CROC for a card that's not even worded correctly.

I don't think proof reading has anything to do with it. In order to accommodate all the text required to avoid this community trying to decide if it's two people in profile or a vase (regarding the definition of YOU) the card would need to be the size of a ship card... If only they had written a few others more effectively 3 years ago people wouldn't go arguing and poking about the definition of the word YOU.

Not really.

"When you equip this, each ship in your squad places tokens blah blah blah.

When a [7] upgrade would be discarded by a ship in your squad, it may discard the illicit token instead."

It takes like two more words to write it in a way that works by RAW.

4 minutes ago, boomaster said:

I don't think proof reading has anything to do with it. In order to accommodate all the text required to avoid this community trying to decide if it's two people in profile or a vase (regarding the definition of YOU) the card would need to be the size of a ship card... If only they had written a few others more effectively 3 years ago people wouldn't go arguing and poking about the definition of the word YOU.

They could had just said, "When a friendly ship is instructed to discard an illicit upgrade card, it may discard 1 illicit token instead" like all other abilities that reference other friendly ships.

2 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

Not really.

"When you equip this, each ship in your squad places tokens blah blah blah.

When a [7] upgrade would be discarded by a ship in your squad, it may discard the illicit token instead."

It takes like two more words to write it in a way that works by RAW.

Maybe the "You" is on purpose, so that it only works while Jabba is alive (although maybe it wouldn't work anyways).

2 minutes ago, SirCormac said:

Maybe the "You" is on purpose, so that it only works while Jabba is alive (although maybe it wouldn't work anyways).

If it is that's dumb for two reasons:

1 because the you means that only HIS ship can discard the token instead of the card.

2 because it (arguably) stops working when he dies anyway, because the only wording telling you what the tokens do is on his card which is no longer in play.

4 minutes ago, Tbetts94 said:

They could had just said, "When a friendly ship is instructed to discard an illicit upgrade card, it may discard 1 illicit token instead" like all other abilities that reference other friendly ships.

That's even better than my wording. It completely slipped my mind that 'a friendly ship' was the right language there.

11 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

If it is that's dumb for two reasons:

1 because the you means that only HIS ship can discard the token instead of the card.

2 because it (arguably) stops working when he dies anyway, because the only wording telling you what the tokens do is on his card which is no longer in play.

I wasn't saying it was a good reason, just a reason:)

5 hours ago, heychadwick said:

I'm betting they errata it so that you don't need Jabba on the table to use the tokens. Fluff wise they are his guards and they get extra goods, even if he blows up.

JABBA IS GREEDY AND TAKES IS TOYS WITH HIM WHEN HIS INCOMPETENT TOOLS LET HIM DIE.

(I agree with you on the probable ruling. More: I hope FFG agrees with you)

11 minutes ago, SirCormac said:

I wasn't saying it was a good reason, just a reason:)

I mean, I hope it's not the reason they had, given that it's wrong.

4 hours ago, UnitOmega said:

This is assuming LFL allows them to adjust the scale. With epic and the bit of a fudge on behalf of the CR90... probably? But a lot of the ship minis scale is based directly on the current canonical numbers put out by the brand.

Yes, this. There are only 3 ships in this game that use something other than the 1:270 scale. All of them are Epic ships. Every other case of people saying that something is on the wrong scale (such as the HWK-290) are based on fan estimates, not Lucas Film's internal numbers.

Heck, for extra fun, take a look at the announcement article for Wave 3. They're _super_ defensive about the HWK's dimensions. I get the feeling they also thought it should have been a large ship...

5 hours ago, Kdubb said:

Trandoshan Slaver (29)
Rigged Cargo Chute (1)

Jabba the Hutt (5)

Shadowport Hunter (33)
Rigged Cargo Chute (1)
Rigged Cargo Chute (1)

Trandoshan Slaver (29)
Rigged Cargo Chute (1)

Total: 100

View in Yet Another Squad Builder

8 Rigged Cargo chutes, anyone?

:lol:

Yeah, great...just, where do you get the other seven debris tokens...are FFG going to include them in the CROC...I don't think so :unsure:

2 hours ago, Darth Meanie said:

I know what you mean. There have been a lot of times while playing I just want a huge pepper-laiden Portillos roast beef sandwich with bread drenched in extra au jus.

The grease is just hell on the cards, though. And you drop your range rulers all the time.

YOU DON'T SLEEVE YOUR CARDS?!

4 minutes ago, ianmiddy said:

Yeah, great...just, where do you get the other seven debris tokens...are FFG going to include them in the CROC...I don't think so :unsure:

Just buy those on internet

i cant stand card sleeves personally. They make shuffling the damage deck a nightmare and the cards tend to not fit in the binder sleeves as easily (or at least not with repeats in the same slot).

5 minutes ago, ianmiddy said:

Yeah, great...just, where do you get the other seven debris tokens...are FFG going to include them in the CROC...I don't think so :unsure:

Ebay. I just bought a couple cards/debris for 10USD actually lol