Terrain Summary

By Klaxas, in Runewars Miniatures Game

8 minutes ago, Carnage4u said:

Terrain Question

I have a unit of archers in a forest.. 2 trays wide.. An enemy collides with the forest but only barely touching with their outer tray. their unit is 3 trays wide.. I know the edges are consider to be touching, but does mean all 3 trays of the enemy are touching my entire front rank. I believe this is true, but does that mean, we are fully engaged to the bitter end? So they kill 1 try of arches, and they continue to attack with all modifies as if 3 ranks were still engaging me.


Follow-up question - The enemy takes enough causalities and decides to take them from tray touching the terrain, Would combat end, when that tray is removed.

Yes, as soon as they collide with the terrain you're in, they are considered engaged with your front rank. You could use a shift to disengage, which should put you in contact outside of the terrain at a spot of your choosing (probably on the opposite side of who just attacked you).

22 minutes ago, Carnage4u said:

Terrain Question

I have a unit of archers in a forest.. 2 trays wide.. An enemy collides with the forest but only barely touching with their outer tray. their unit is 3 trays wide.. I know the edges are consider to be touching, but does mean all 3 trays of the enemy are touching my entire front rank. I believe this is true, but does that mean, we are fully engaged to the bitter end? So they kill 1 try of arches, and they continue to attack with all modifies as if 3 ranks were still engaging me.


Follow-up question - The enemy takes enough causalities and decides to take them from tray touching the terrain, Would combat end, when that tray is removed.

If the enemy unit is touching, then they are in combat with your archer's front rank. Combat would be resolved like in the open: threat would be equal to the number of trays along the edge (3). Combat would end if that one tray is eliminated.

From the rules reference under engagement 34-4. "If a try being removed causes two units to no longer be engaged, the unit that did not have trays removed can attempt to close in."

Thanks. I knew there were close in rules, but I didn't see anything mentioning if terrain had any affect on them, as I imagine the placement of trays might be hard to avoid overlapping the terrain piece.

Ignore thism Didn't realize there were already answers posted.

Edited by Budgernaut

From my reading of 81.8, you would treat it the same as if your 2-tray wide was aligned with their 3-tray wide as long as the enemy unit is touching. If they remove a tray touching the terrain, they are no longer touching and therefore not engaged with your unit.