But you didn't prove that at all...
Activated Territory Question
broken said:
But you didn't prove that at all...
And you didn't prove they could.
COWTRA. Concentrate on what the rules allow. You cannot move units out of an area with an activation token.(p15). You can move units into an area with an activation token (p 17). It never states that you can move units through an area with activation tokens. Since the very act of moving through involves moving out of, that would break the rule from page 15.
It also never says you can't move through areas with friendly activation tokens, nor does it define through as into and then out of. The only area you are said to move "into" when you mobilize/conquer is the area you are activating just then. The only area you are said to move "out of" when you mobilize/conquer is the area from which you originated. Please stop conflating "through" with "into and then out of". "Through" means "through". It never says in the rulebook "into and then out of", it just says "through". You can't have your cake and eat it too, it's either too vague to call, or you have to take the words for what they are.
I think some rules are being misinterpreted.
When the rules say that "you cannot move units out of an area with an activation token.(p15)", I'm pretty sure the rules are referring
to the units which ended a previous turn in that area, not units moving through that area on the current turn.
The activation marker is nothing more than an indicator to show which area and which units have already been activated, it's not a "move stopper".
I'm quite sure of this, but ... I guess CC will have to step in and give the definitive answer.
That has already been said and evidently was unacceptable (though I totally agree).
I just checked the rulebook again and I think the rules are very clear :
Quote :
“Mobilize” and “Conquer” Order cards allow a player to activate an area and move any of his units into the area as long as the units started two or fewer areas away. If there are enemy or neutral units in the activated area, then the player must start a battle with them or attempt diplomacy.
Although all units may move a distance of up to two areas with a “Mobilize” or “Conquer” Order card, units may only move
through friendly or empty areas to get to the activated area (see “Mobilize/Conquer Order Example” below).
End Quote.
Thus, you may move any unit to the activated area as long as the units started two or fewer areas away
and
may only move through friendly or empty areas to get to the activated area.
A previously activated area, containing one or more friendly units is a friendly area, which you may pass through.
What you may not do though is move units which would start their movement in an area containing an activation counter.
Any figure which originates from an area which does NOT contain one of YOUR activation counters and which is within two areas of the area you just activated may move to that activated area, - moving through friendly and/or empty areas - even if their route takes them through an area which you have activated during a previous turn.
The people in this thread who are arguing against that sound logic are saying that to move "through" is to move "into and then out of", so moving "through" a previously activated area wouldn't be acceptable, because you can't move "out of" a previously activated area.
FAQ and Errata v1.0 is up :
Here you go.
Q: Can units move through areas containing friendly activation tokens?
A: Yes.
DarkElf said:
FAQ and Errata v1.0 is up :
Here you go.
Q: Can units move through areas containing friendly activation tokens?
A: Yes.
Awesome! They got that up quickly!