Boarding Troopers and Flight Commander

By Boxtwin, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I am new to the game and have wondered if Flight Commanders would influence when the Boarding troopers effect would take place. Flight Commanders allow you to resolve your squadron command after you move. Which to me means do everything it activates after a move action.

Could it be used to move a ship and then spend an enemy ships defence tokens?

If so, would make Demolisher a super power card, especially if mixed with expanded launchers. Would also be great to fly a cheapie in to combat and spend defence tokens so ISD 2 Avenger can punish that ship later on.

Just wanted people thoughts on how the card will work.

No. Boarding troopers trigger when reveal a command, not when you resolve a squadron command so:

1. Reveal the command.

2. Trigger Boarding Troopers discarding a squadron dial/token

3.1 Resolve any command spending dial/token/dial+token

OR

3.2 Resolve any command (but squadron), shoot, move and thenot resolve a squadron command with FC

It makes sense when you put it that way. Effect goes off at reveal, not resolution.

Thank you

The thing is, with the boarding team you do not actually resolve the squadron command, you just discard the dial or token to get the effect.

That also means: If you have both a squad dial and token, you could discard the token for the boarding and still resolve the dial squadron command as normal.

I think it was written this way to keep Demolisher from abusing this exact issue prior to attacking.

28 minutes ago, thecactusman17 said:

I think it was written this way to keep Demolisher from abusing this exact issue prior to attacking.

This would have sense if Demolisher could equip those upgrades.

No offensive retrofit = no boarding actions.

I do not know went but fit some reason I could swear the glad had an OR. Does me not to post so late.

On 3/18/2017 at 6:42 AM, ovinomanc3r said:

No. Boarding troopers trigger when reveal a command, not when you resolve a squadron command so:

1. Reveal the command.

2. Trigger Boarding Troopers discarding a squadron dial/token

3.1 Resolve any command spending dial/token/dial+token

OR

3.2 Resolve any command (but squadron), shoot, move and thenot resolve a squadron command with FC

If you spent a token to trigger troopers, why can't you trigger a squadron command with a dial, you haven't resolved any commands this round (not even squadron), you just spent it.

Technically, you discard (not spend) the token to trigger Troopers.

And indeed, later in the turn you can of course still resolve a Squadron command if you have that dial.

ovino's point is that the order in which this happens is fixed. First boarding, then squadrons, then movement. Unless you have Flight Commanders, in which case it's first boarding, then movement, then squadrons. But boarding always goes at the beginning of the ship's activation, when its dial is revealed.

27 minutes ago, DiabloAzul said:

Technically, you discard (not spend) the token to trigger Troopers.

Not sure how much it's going to come up, but for what it's worth, this means you can trigger Troopers and resolve General Leia in the same return.

2 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Not sure how much it's going to come up, but for what it's worth, this means you can trigger Troopers and resolve General Leia in the same return.

Yularen.

5 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Yularen.

Yularen is when you spend , so actually kind of a kick in the pants for him. :/

1 minute ago, Ardaedhel said:

Yularen is when you spend , so actually kind of a kick in the pants for him. :/

Yes. I pointed him because that. I would have liked to reveal a squadron command, spend the token to trigger my marines, exhaust Yularen to take the token back and then activate 6 firespray and pewpew with Avenger. It was just a dream of course.

27 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Yes. I pointed him because that. I would have liked to reveal a squadron command, spend the token to trigger my marines, exhaust Yularen to take the token back and then activate 6 firespray and pewpew with Avenger. It was just a dream of course.

Yeah, you can only do it with 5 Firespray, what a tragedy! :P

1 hour ago, DiabloAzul said:

Yeah, you can only do it with 5 Firespray, what a tragedy! :P

And shoot at medium with rerolls... just terrible.

On 22/03/2017 at 7:58 PM, Undeadguy said:

And shoot at medium with rerolls... just terrible.

Rerolls?

6 minutes ago, Ginkapo said:

Rerolls?

BCC