Rule Clarification - Strength

By Chancellor of Sol, in Runewars

The human player has won the battle even though he has no units! This can happen in other ways as well, such as an opponent attacking your stronghold with 4 units.

Oh, I see I got quite the dispute started.

Taking a closer look at the rulebook, I have come to the following conclusion:

Player A wins the battle, Player B is forced to retreat. The reasons leading to this conclusion are the following:

As stated on page 21/22, the fourth step of a battle sequnce "Rounds of Combat"(pg.21) includes substep 3 "Resolve Special Abilities"(pg.22),

which states "[...]Starting with the attacker, each player resolves his units’ special abilities (as printed on the faction sheets) a number of

times equal to the number of special ability icons on cards he drew."

Ergo, any "Special Ability" triggered is resolved before battle step 5 "Tally Strength"(pg.21). That very step is described:
"After each unit has attacked once, both players tally their strength as follows:"

So the rules clearly state, that "Strength" is a property of a PLAYER, not a UNIT. > Player A: 4 Strength || Player B: 3 Strength

So in the "Resolution"(pg.21) step where "The player with the highest total strength wins the battle; in the case of a tie, the defender wins",

"The losing player must immediately retreat all of his participating units from the area and rout them". Full stop.

I could not find any paragraphs opposing this theory. I hope nobody else can :-)

Thanks to everybody for their contributions.

broken said:

The rules are ambiguous. It could implicitly mean that that Siege Tower gains +2 strength when determining the winner of the battle. That would be a much more elegant solution that just adding +2 per orb drawn for Siege Towers, even if you have no units left.

seems like a clumsy solution, because you would have to say which siege tower got the and which didn't, because if at the end of the battle you have 1 siege tower left standing, you must know if it was the one that you activated for +2 or not, too much bookkeeping. in the rules it never says that you assign one special ability activation to a specific unit, it only says you activate the number of times equal to the number of activations you drew.

Corey comes to save the day! I am happy that we have gotten an answer, even though I was totally wrong.