A buddy and I were playing Carnivale tonight (me for the first time) and when Acrid Miasma was revealed, his take on the "Revelation - Attach to the nearest location clockwise" was that it meant our current location (can't get much closer than on top of us), while I countered that it had to mean the next clockwise location. Was he right or I? Thanks in advance!
Rules: Clarifying "Nearest" Location
Interesting question. I would interpret it as the next clockwise location because otherwise there would be no point at all in wording it that way, it would just say "attach to your current location".
Also, look at the FORCED entry following placement instructions. The bad stuff only triggers when you enter a location that already has it, meaning that if you attach it to your current location, you completely avoid the bad stuff until you completely circle the "board" again where if it is placed at the location next to you, you cannot avoid triggering the bad stuff if you want to move.
I felt the same way, as it seemed almost like cheating to have it go on our own location. As you say, the Forced Entry also seems to indicate that it would go on the next site in line. However, he's played more than I have at this point, so I didn't want to argue. And I got my revenge by having Duke the Hound accidentally kill his Investigator on two straight misses against monsters he was engaged with (before I was very quickly also killed).
Nearest: Nearest refers to the entity of the specified kind at a location that can be reached in the fewest number of connections , even if one or more of those connections are blocked by another card ability.
Bolded part mine. Nearest is determined by counting the number of connections, not the locations themselves. Since there is no connection from your current location to that location, there's no connection to consider when calculating the nearest.
I thought the same when I read the rules reference on Nearest when I got home. The bolded text you highlight seems to clarify the answer. Unless someone has a counter-argument, I'll play it that way next time. Thanks!
2 hours ago, Buhallin said:Nearest: Nearest refers to the entity of the specified kind at a location that can be reached in the fewest number of connections , even if one or more of those connections are blocked by another card ability.
Bolded part mine. Nearest is determined by counting the number of connections, not the locations themselves. Since there is no connection from your current location to that location, there's no connection to consider when calculating the nearest.
0<1
Yup. The qualifier "clockwise" is what makes the difference here. 0 is less than one, but is neither clockwise nor counterclockwise from you, so it attaches to the next location rather than yours.