Summoning a Warp Shielded figure

By haslo, in Chaos in the Old World

The FAQ, while answering a few of my questions (like the interaction between Rain of Pus and Soporific Musk, we played that right it seems), made me wonder:

If a controlled (formerly enemy) figure is summoned away by the Slaanesh player, it no longer is under the influence of the Soporific Musk (FAQ page 3). On the other hand, Tzeentch can Warp Shield and then Teleport a figure, which results in the figure being protected by the Warp Field in a different region than it was previously, and consequently in a different region from where Warp Shield was played (Rulebook page 14).

The combination of these rulings makes me believe that if the Tzeentch player were to Warp Shield one of his figures, and then summon it away to another region, the figure would lose the protection from the Warp Shield as well - making it necessary to have and play a Teleport if he'd want a Warp Shielded figure moved into the target region, even if the region is one (or adjacent to one) in which Tzeentch has figures.

Is this correct?

Hmm, on the other hand Soporific Musk functions in the area where the figure is. If you summon it away, the figure is no longer in the embrace of the musk and thus free to do as he chooses. Warp Shield does not work like this but the effect follows the character around.

I see no reason for the Tzeentch player to teleport the warp-shielded character if he can just summon him elsewhere.

Whitmire said:

Warp Shield does not work like this but the effect follows the character around.

I see no reason for the Tzeentch player to teleport the warp-shielded character if he can just summon him elsewhere.

Well, the example in the rulebook makes the Tzeentch player teleport the shielded character, so I assumed that it makes sense to do that.

What is your legitimation for treating the Soporific Musk as a different kind of effect from Warp Shield? They both apply to figures chosen "when you play this card". The Musk lasts "until this card is discarded", while the Shield lasts for the duration of "this round". Neither has a qualifier that restrains the effect only to figures that remain within the same field, nor does the rulebook definition of control (page 25) imply such a thing.

Thus my question came up in the first place. Coming from the rulebook example, the behaviour of a controlled formerly enemy figure summoned away while it is under the influence of the Musk was unexpected for me, I would have expected that the control from Soporific Musk holds up throughout that summoning. And I thus wondered what the difference between the FAQ example and the rulebook example was, what it is that makes it consistent to treat the two so differently.

The only idea I had was that summoning appears to "create a fresh copy" without lingering effects. If that is the case, Warp Shield must drop if the figure is summoned somewhere else. If that is not true, the FAQ ruling makes no sense to me.

The FAQ is incorrect. FFG was notified of this cotnradiction between Sopoforic Musk and Warp Shield and issued a retraction through me to BGG. THe updated FAQ has been ready for quite some time but unfortunately still not posted here on the site.

So in both cases, Warp Shield and Sopoforic Musk "follow" the figure around. The figures do not have to remain in the region to continue to receive the effects of the card. So Slaanesh can play Sopoforic Musk on an upgraded Tzeenth Cultist and then a later turn in the same round take that Cultist, along with a Warpstone if he wishes, and place him elsewhere and it will still be under the control of Slaanesh for the rest of the turn.

That is extremely interesting. Thanks!

Thanks a lot happy.gif I slept over this and was about to make it a rules question, after realizing that "move" and "summon" really are the same thing (rulebook page 11) and thus my attempt at finding an explanation for the difference was misguided from the start.

ColtsFan76 said:

The FAQ is incorrect. FFG was notified of this cotnradiction between Sopoforic Musk and Warp Shield and issued a retraction through me to BGG. THe updated FAQ has been ready for quite some time but unfortunately still not posted here on the site.

So in both cases, Warp Shield and Sopoforic Musk "follow" the figure around. The figures do not have to remain in the region to continue to receive the effects of the card. So Slaanesh can play Sopoforic Musk on an upgraded Tzeenth Cultist and then a later turn in the same round take that Cultist, along with a Warpstone if he wishes, and place him elsewhere and it will still be under the control of Slaanesh for the rest of the turn.

Good to know tht we've been playing Warpshield correctly. And wow! This opens up new possibilities for Slaanesh. A followup question immediately comes to my mind: If Slaanesh takes control of an upgraded Nurgle cultist, which hasn't been summoned for free during that round, can Slaanesh summon the cultist for zero cost once? I'd say yes but I'd like to hear confirmation.

Hm, interesting question. What's obvious is that the upgrade does remain in effect, as per page 25 on control:

if the original owner had upgraded his figures of that type, the upgrade remains in effect

The Leper upgrade reads as follows:

A Leper's cost is 0 if placed in a region where you have no other figures. A given Leper figure may only be summoned for free once per round.

So I'd argue that yes, they can be summoned for free into a region where the player denoted by "you" has no other figures, if no player summoned the Leper in question for free this round already.

When it comes to Chaos Cards, the word "you" is clearly defined, on page 13:

The word “you” in this section always refers to the player who played the card.

However, the case is not so clear-cut for upgrade cards. Arguably, in this context it makes most sense if it refers to the player who currently controls the figure. That's speculation really, I just don't see "you" denoting the Nurgle player whatever happens as making much sense and haven't found a ruling that applies to upgrade cards. If that is true, the figure would have to be summoned into a region where there are no Slaanesh figures.

Furthermore, if that is the case and "you" denotes the figure's controller, then something similar would apply for controlled upgraded Horrors: Summoning them somewhere else would then let only the Slaanesh player place cards in the slot they are placed on, until they are moved away again or killed, even beyond the round with the Slaanesh player taking control. Since the summoning itself triggers that ability however, controlling a Horror that already is in a card slot will still let only the Tzeentch player play a card there.

More discussion would of course be welcome, I'm not 100% certain on either of these points.

For reference, all the figure upgrades that refer to "you": The ones where the upgrade would be completely useless to a controlling player if "you" applied to the upgrade owner and not the figure controller are marked with an asterisk ( * ).

  • Keeper of Secrets (implicitly) *
  • Horrors *
  • Lepers
  • Plaguebearers *
  • Great Unclean One *
  • Bloodletters *
  • Bloodthirster *

Greater Demons can't be controlled at the time being, but that still leaves three warrior upgrades and one cultist upgrade that depend on "you".

I'm still particularly intrigued by the Horrors implication that would make controlling one of them and summoning them somewhere useful beyond the turn in which the control actually takes place.

aikavaras said:

ColtsFan76 said:

The FAQ is incorrect. FFG was notified of this cotnradiction between Sopoforic Musk and Warp Shield and issued a retraction through me to BGG. THe updated FAQ has been ready for quite some time but unfortunately still not posted here on the site.

So in both cases, Warp Shield and Sopoforic Musk "follow" the figure around. The figures do not have to remain in the region to continue to receive the effects of the card. So Slaanesh can play Sopoforic Musk on an upgraded Tzeenth Cultist and then a later turn in the same round take that Cultist, along with a Warpstone if he wishes, and place him elsewhere and it will still be under the control of Slaanesh for the rest of the turn.

Good to know tht we've been playing Warpshield correctly. And wow! This opens up new possibilities for Slaanesh. A followup question immediately comes to my mind: If Slaanesh takes control of an upgraded Nurgle cultist, which hasn't been summoned for free during that round, can Slaanesh summon the cultist for zero cost once? I'd say yes but I'd like to hear confirmation.

Yes. The controlled figure retains their characterisitics. So if that is an upgraded Nurgle Cultists, it gets one free move IF it goes to t a region with no figures of its owner. So now it must go to a region without Slaanesh figures but can be summoned for free in a region with Nurgle figures.

Thanks for the answer ColtsFan. Slaanesh got some new options now and that makes him more interesting to play. Good.