Traits (Troll Slayer career card).

By Mitch01, in WFRP Rules Questions

On the Troll Slayer Career Card the traits section it lists... Basic, Combat, Fanatic, Slayer .

What does this mean, are there cards that I get with these traits?

What do each of these mean, and how does it apply to the slayer I am attempting to create?

Thank you.

Mitch01 said:

On the Troll Slayer Career Card the traits section it lists... Basic, Combat, Fanatic, Slayer .

What does this mean, are there cards that I get with these traits?

What do each of these mean, and how does it apply to the slayer I am attempting to create?

The traits have no direct benefits. They are used for changing careers and in connection to a few Action Cards.

The Traits are broad categories that the career belongs too. The only time they affect the game is when you are transitioning between careers: It costs 4 advances minus the number of traits the careers they have in common.

For instance: the Troll Slayer is (Basic, Combat, Fanatic, Slayer) while the Thug is (Basic, Combat, Menial, Rogue). Because these two careers have two traits in common, it takes 4-2 = 2 advances to transition from one to the other.

Thank you both for the reply.

I just created a Slayer and in the process I purchased 2 traits and two actions.

The Slayer has Tactics only as his traits options, so I picked out two Tactic cards, " Charge " and " Ill Sleep when Im Dead "

I noticed on the two above that it said "Slayer" at the top of the card, so I assumed I could pick those cards.

I also picked two Actions " Shrug it Off " and "Double Strike. "

Does it sound like I did that right?

i dont have it in front of me, but isnt the troll slayer career ability something like "...gain armor soak equal to 1+ the number of slayer careers you have completed"? that also would be a factor for what the 'slayer' trait would do. some action cards, most notably spells for priests and wizards, also require certain career traits to buy.

Mitch01 said:

Thank you both for the reply.

I just created a Slayer and in the process I purchased 2 traits and two actions.

The Slayer has Tactics only as his traits options, so I picked out two Tactic cards, " Charge " and " Ill Sleep when Im Dead "

I noticed on the two above that it said "Slayer" at the top of the card, so I assumed I could pick those cards.

I also picked two Actions " Shrug it Off " and "Double Strike. "

Does it sound like I did that right?

I'm not sure that charge or I'll sleep when I'm dead have anything related to the slayer trait on them? Did you mean that?

A character can pick any talents that he wants, however, only talents that he can socket to either his career card or the party card are going to be immediately useful.

So picking tactic talents is a sensible chioce for a Slayer, but any tactic talents would have been equally viable choices.

Some action cards also have traits listed but FFG have made it very clear that in the majority of cases these are not restrictions. i.e. Even though the action card Troll Feller strike has slayer as a trait, this does NOT mean only slayer careers can take that card. It gets a bit confusing because FFG haven't really said when traits are to be used as restrictions (for instance some spell cards have Sigmar on them as a trait, so in that sense it is a restriction because only priests of Sigmar can use that spell, but that hasn't been clearly stated in that sense.. anyway I digress slightly)

Some people, myself included, are going to use some of the traits as more solid restrictions than FFG dictate, so that only a slayer can buy action cards that have the slayer trait, and only waywatchers can buy action cards with the watcher trait etc BUT that is a house rule for our group and not the official rule.

The traits on the career card itself are slightly different again, and as explained by others are primarily used for career transition costs, but may occassionally be referenced on special ability cards or other cards too.

In effect as far as FFG are concerned there is no direct link/restriction/connection/whatever between the trait on the career card and the traits on a particular action card, unless ANOTHER rule or requirement specifies there is a link in that specific case...

clear as mud, eh!?

EvilBen, Yes you are correct, thank you for the reply.

Pumpkin,

Thank you as well.

I like your house rule regarding limiting the actions, I have a feeling our group will arrive at the same rule sooner or later.

For now, I'll continue doing things as FFG said.

We have not played V3 yet. I hope it turnes outas good as it seems it will be.

Have a day!

:o )