Dodonnas Pride VS Scatter, Evade and Contain

By Kiwi Rat, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Can the Crit effect by Dodonnas Pride be mitigated by Scatter, Evade or Contain?

Because they way I read the card, all dice is cancelled before the spend Defence tokens step, so there is in effect no dice left to mitigate by any of the three defence tokens.

And what happens when you throw the Damage Control officer into the mix?

Please correct me if Im wrong.

Edited by Kiwi Rat

You're wrong.

Roll (And Modify) Attack Dice

Defender Spends Defense Tokens

Attacker Resolves Critical Effect

Calculate Damage

Deal Damage

catter / Evade happens immedaitely in the Defense Tokens Step, so you'd have no Crit to Resolve come the next step

Contain does nothing, as its a Non-Default Critical Effect. You'd have to have Contain AND Damage Control Officer to negate it that way.

The whole point of Dodonna's Pride cancelling the other dice, is making sure the face up card is the only card you're delivering if you chose to do it.

Because you don't spend Critical Results - and the other Results would Remain without that caveat, doing more damage to the Target.


S

Edited by Drasnighta

Well I read the card as "Cancel all attack dice" including the one blue dice with the Crit and exchange it immidiately to a faceup damage card.

Because the correct wording has to be "Cancel all other attack dice" in order for the blue crit to remain to be mitigated by a defence token.

Anyhow I'm just trying to figure the right intend of the wording, so it wont uneccessary slow down a game with a rule argument.

Can you spend accuracy's first before cancelling the other attack dice?

Edited by Kiwi Rat
Just now, Kiwi Rat said:

Well I read the card as "Cancel all attack dice" including the one blue dice with the Crit and exchange it to a faceup damage card.

Because the correct wording has to be "Cancel all other attack dice" in order for the blue crit to remain to be mitigated by a defence token.

Anyhow I'm just trying to figure the right intend of the wording, so it wont uneccessary slow down a game with a rule argument.

Can you spend accuracy's first before cancelling the other attack dice?

In this instance, yes.

Because you Spend accuracy in the Roll Attack Dice step.

When you spend them, you remove them from the pool.

You're being caught up on "Cancel" as "Immediately cancel all of them." Like something you would do as a Spend in the Modify Dice Section. Its not.

But its not

Its: " AS YOUR CRITICAL EFFECT, CANCEL ALL THE DICE AND DO THIS".

So you are correct in that you are exchanging All of your Dice, Including at least one Blue Critical Die, for that Single Face up Card.... But the Question is the TIMING of it.

You must have your Critical Die Showing, and have gotten to the part where you declare/resolve your Critical Effect, to Trigger it. Then Boom, it Triggers, and all dice are deleted before resolving any actual Damage.

I fyou roll Hit, Hit, Crit - and your Enemy Evades away the Crit (makes you reroll it into a Hit or ACC, for example), then you have No Critical to Deliver... You do not get an opportunity to SPEND it before they do that.

Note: This is opposite to say, Fletchette Torpedoes, which has you spend it before Defense Tokens.

1 minute ago, Drasnighta said:

In this instance, yes.

Because you Spend accuracy in the Roll Attack Dice step.

When you spend them, you remove them from the pool.

You're being caught up on "Cancel" as "Immediately cancel all of them." Like something you would do as a Spend in the Modify Dice Section. Its not.

But its not

Its: " AS YOUR CRITICAL EFFECT, CANCEL ALL THE DICE AND DO THIS".

So you are correct in that you are exchanging All of your Dice, Including at least one Blue Critical Die, for that Single Face up Card.... But the Question is the TIMING of it.

You must have your Critical Die Showing, and have gotten to the part where you declare/resolve your Critical Effect, to Trigger it. Then Boom, it Triggers, and all dice are deleted before resolving any actual Damage.

I fyou roll Hit, Hit, Crit - and your Enemy Evades away the Crit (makes you reroll it into a Hit or ACC, for example), then you have No Critical to Deliver... You do not get an opportunity to SPEND it before they do that.

Note: This is opposite to say, Fletchette Torpedoes, which has you spend it before Defense Tokens.

Thanks Dras, that made it much clearer for me.

There is nothing more better than an AHA! moment on a boring Thursday evening :)

A follow up question.

If you have leading shots on a CR90B and you shoot from the side arc, have no crits, remove one of the two blue dice, re-roll the other blue dice and get a crit, can you still use the Dodonna's Pride effect with one blue die with a crit?

The question is likewise if you shot at an obstructed target with your side arc?

Why wouldnt you?* After the modify dice step you have a blue crit... which you can then spend for Dodonnas Pride special crit when the apply critical effects step comes round.

*Is it an exhaust to use card? In which case it can only be used once per turn if not then yes you can use it twice if you get a crit from both arcs

1 minute ago, slasher956 said:

Why wouldnt you?* After the modify dice step you have a blue crit... which you can then spend for Dodonnas Pride special crit when the apply critical effects step comes round.

*Is it an exhaust to use card? In which case it can only be used once per turn if not then yes you can use it twice if you get a crit from both arcs

The title is not an Exhaust card, so one should be able to use it twice.

My question mostly go in the direction if you only have a single blue dice to attack with, and if its a crit, is that enough to deal a faceup damage card?

21 minutes ago, Kiwi Rat said:

The title is not an Exhaust card, so one should be able to use it twice.

My question mostly go in the direction if you only have a single blue dice to attack with, and if its a crit, is that enough to deal a faceup damage card?

Yes.

Yes (you only need 1 blue crit - everything else is irrelevant).

6 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

Yes.

Yes (you only need 1 blue crit - everything else is irrelevant).

Then Dodonnas Pride is really nasty with Leading shots, I'll have to try that :lol:

3 minutes ago, Kiwi Rat said:

Then Dodonnas Pride is really nasty with Leading shots, I'll have to try that :lol:

Correct :)