Flash Bomb

By Majushi, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Is the Flash Bomb one use? Or because it doesn't say discard anywhere, does it technically remain with the Rebels until end of the mission?

Gut instinct says it should be one use, but RAW implies it remains.

Text:

Flash Bomb

Consumable - Explosive

2 pic2503568.png : Choose a space within 3 spaces. Each figure on or adjacent to the chosen space suffers 1 mb_32913_0.png and becomes Weakened.

Flash%20Bomb_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.

Edited by Majushi

Most likely a typo, it says "Consumable" at the top. I'd play it as a one-shot use only even though yes it doesn't say "discard after use"

Design Intent on this one appears to be all over the place.

Name: Flash Bomb (singular) implies there's only one.
Traits: Consumable (ie used up when used) and explosive (boom means no more of it left)
Ability: No mention of discard
Card Type: Crate Items are typically one use items (with a very limited amount number that are not)

I'd agree with your assessment, but a FAQ clarification may be needed.

Anyone have the email address to submit this to?

Like I said elsewhere yesterday, I suggest you house-rule Flash Bomb to "Discard after use." because as written the Flash Bomb is a bit crazy if drawn early in a mission.

Consumable points to intent, but traits do not have meaning by themselves.

Probably won't be in the next FAQ (2.3) yet. (But I have reported it, so it is being considered.)

Edited by a1bert

Good to know. Thanks a1bert

On 2/3/2017 at 9:55 AM, a1bert said:

Like I said elsewhere yesterday, I suggest you house-rule Flash Bomb to "Discard after use." because as written the Flash Bomb is a bit crazy if drawn early in a mission.

Consumable points to intent, but traits do not have meaning by themselves.

Probably won't be in the next FAQ (2.3) yet. (But I have reported it, so it is being considered.)

Consumable in Italian version is translated with equivalent of "single use". I think this translation is dangerous and very wrong. However Italian version doesn't need a faq, single use doesn't allow any doubt.

Brilliant! 4 strains to launch the bomb twice, double rest and 4 more throws. 6 aoe damages plus weaken, not too shabby for a crate! ?

19 hours ago, Golan Trevize said:

Consumable in Italian version is translated with equivalent of "single use". I think this translation is dangerous and very wrong. However Italian version doesn't need a faq, single use doesn't allow any doubt.

Translation seems right to me, a translation along the lines of 'edible' would seem wrong. Translators usually collaborate plenty with designers to make sure they aren't misinterpreting source content.

7 hours ago, theChony said:

Translation seems right to me, a translation along the lines of 'edible' would seem wrong. Translators usually collaborate plenty with designers to make sure they aren't misinterpreting source content.

I'm not native speaker but my understanding is that consumable is something that gets consumed after a finite amount of uses, which are not necessarily one and only one. I may likely be wrong and please if a native speaker is reading correct me. My understanding in example is that a pencil is consumable but not necessarily "single use" because it can be reused many times before it fully consumed. I agree that the game has considered consumable equal to single use so far, but perhaps it may not be like that in future. It sounds a bit misleading, and I repeat that this is how I interpreted the usage of the term as a non native speaker, so I could be wrong.

Edited by Golan Trevize

Yeah, I think you're right that a consumable shouldn't imply a single use, but should mean finite uses, usually one in my opinion, but we're not really discussing the definition here. I was just trying to point out as someone who also sees rules and cards in other languages, translations are very rarely 'wrong', but depending on the reader/region the translations could be 'not preferred' instead, for lack of a better term. Translations usually involve lots of back and forth to fully understand what is being interpreted, so the translator should have a good amount of inside information if it's done right. That's why I've sometimes found little rule clarifications in some official foreign docs for boardgames.

I'm not saying this trait is a rule, but I would guess is a hint at what the developer's intended and missed as A1bert already said. By the way, your English is spot on, and thanks for sharing that bit of information about the card.

Item traits have no intrinsic rules attached to them. They are just there as flavor and to be referenced by other abilities, such as MHD and Ko-Tun.

I can confirm from first-hand experience that this card is broken when played RaW, allowing a figure to do Blast 4 each activation just by resting twice without having to deal damage through an attack. It should definitely be house-ruled as a single use item.

On 5/12/2017 at 6:51 PM, Tvboy said:

Item traits have no intrinsic rules attached to them. They are just there as flavor and to be referenced by other abilities, such as MHD and Ko-Tun.

I can confirm from first-hand experience that this card is broken when played RaW, allowing a figure to do Blast 4 each activation just by resting twice without having to deal damage through an attack. It should definitely be house-ruled as a single use item.

What about Verena with Master Operative and Cybernetic Arm plus Artificial Stimulants (perhaps drawn by MHD). Starting with 0 strains (and without considering Gideon or other free strain recovering effects) it's 20 bombs in 2 rounds :D

Rest assured that the Flash Bomb should include "Then, discard this card." (next FAQ)

On 2/10/2018 at 3:21 AM, a1bert said:

Rest assured that the Flash Bomb should include "Then, discard this card." (next FAQ)

Any idea when that's coming? It feels like it's been like a year since the last FAQ and we still have quite a lot of unresolved issues in the game especially from the recent wave. In campaign we have Drokkatta, Ko-Tun and Flash Bomb supposedly not working correctly Rules-as-Written, and I'm sure skirmish has its stuff going on but I haven't really been paying that close attention.

just discard it. do that yourself as a rule. makes sense and it is thematic. i cant imagine playing with people who would try to exploit it in the fun space game

3 hours ago, Tvboy said:

Any idea when that's coming? It feels like it's been like a year since the last FAQ

It has taken long, yes. Possibly due to the App, Legion, perhaps something we don't know about.

I don't know the full procedure or schedule, but at least it starts to be visible on the horizon.