Moving and Attacks of Opportunity

By Hordeoverseer, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

I was wondering...if there was a card that made you move (like card in your hand or from the mythos), does this trigger an attack of opportunity from the monster (assuming you were already engaged) and does the monster follow you to the new location?

I'm also a bit confused how Abbess Allegria Di Biase works in Terror of Venice, is she attached to a player or just a stationary fixture at her location? Thanks!

Attacks of Opportunity only trigger of bold arrow actions, or player actions other than the ones listed. If the card does not do one of those, there no there not an Attack of Opportunity.

The Abbess just hangs out at the Basilica. She is not controlled by any player.

What about moving (with a card, such as the Abbess) while something is engaged to you?

Did you take an action for the move? Then you suffer the AOO.

If you use a free action trigger to do something, then you won't suffer AOO. Likewise, if some other game effect moves you without you actually spending an action (such as being kicked out of the Graveyard in Midnight Masks), no AOO.

9 hours ago, Network57 said:

The Abbess just hangs out at the Basilica. She is not controlled by any player.

Ok, so even though she isn't controlled by player her ability can still be used? Thx!

From the FAQ:

(1.2) Triggered Abilities

An investigator is permitted to use triggered abilities from the following sources:
= A card in play and under his or her control. This includes his or her investigator card.
= A scenario card that is in play and at the same location as the investigator. This includes the location itself, encounter cards placed at that location, and all encounter cards in the threat area of any investigator at that location.
= The current act or current agenda card.
= Any card that explicitly allows the investigator to activate its ability.

The Abbess falls under Point 4.

Edited by Buhallin

That clears it up. Thanks Buhallin!