Rules query for Disc of Itzamna

By DaeMord, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

So we had a situation where wolfman spawned on rex who had the disc of Itzamna on him, so he decided to use it in order to simply discard wolfman. This prompted a question, since wolfman wasnt "defeated" but was "discarded" does he goto the victory display, we ask because defeated has specific circumstances attached to it, namely hp reaching zero, and discard isnt included therefore conclude that discard is NOT defeat??, also the rules on VP's say "overcome" without defining what "overcome" means, is this to be interperated as removing from the field, or defeated, if defeated then surely discard would not send to Vicroty display?
Thoughts??

I don't have a definitive answer, but what I can find leads me to believe that he would just get discarded.

I think the "overcome" phrasing at the start of that section was to cover all possible encounter types (enemy, treachery, location), which they explain type by type below. For enemies, it goes to the victory display when defeated.

This implies to me that he would get discarded, and you'd lose your chance at his victory point unless you manage to draw him again later. Also, arkhamdb.com is a good place to look for card-related questions like this. The note for Disc of Itzamna says:

  • The enemy is not defeated, so you do not add it to your Victory Display if it has victory points, and reactions to an enemy being defeated (e.g. Roland Banks , Evidence! ) do not trigger.

Cool thank you for that so i accept no VP, much apretiated, now how do you record this for end of scenario recording, it isnt in play in the cultist deck or in the VP, so do you simply not record it and therefore not spawn it on scenario 3 and not add doom for it, which seems to be how to interperate this but this doesnt "feel" right to me?

Edited by DaeMord

Hmm, I hadn't considered that, and if there was a discussion on that, I missed it.

By the strict reading of the campaign guide, which says to note in your campaign log those cultists in the Cultist deck or in play. Wolfman is neither, he's in the discard pile, so I think you wouldn't write his name down. So he wouldn't appear in scenario 3.

It feels a little weird, but that's how I'd play it. You didn't really defeat or interrogate him, but whatever the Disc did to him, he's not able to participate in the ritual.

If anyone has an alternate interpretation of any of this, I'd love to hear it too.

Nah, I read it the same way.

Nature of a game like this is that eventually an interaction will short circuit something like this.

Just do what the cards tell you, and in this case, count yourself lucky. :)