So what do you do when your deck is empty , but some card effect somewhere (like an encounter) says you must discard some cards off the top of your deck ?
Looked in the rules, and it doesn't specify this instance (that I could find which is why I'm asking this question here), but it does talk about drawing cards however, I would treat that as different things. Because in the rule reference (pg. 9) it refers to drawing a card as taking the top card of your deck and adding it to your hand . Inversely, we can treat discarding as taking a card from a source (like hand, play area or deck ) and placing it in the discard pile (which also has a section in the Rule Reference, but doesn't help to answer this question).
I think that when put in this situation, you discard as many cards as you can until you can no longer, leaving your deck empty . On a future turn, or when called to draw , that player would need to then reshuffle their discard pile to reform their deck and take a horror as per the draw rules, but i wanted to ask the question here to see if someone could set me straight or we could confirm that is how it should be played.
basically: discard (specifically from the deck) and draw are different things, right? discarding wouldn't prompt the player to reshuffle their deck once they ran out of cards if they needed to continue discarding cards from their deck , would it?