Order of resolving "After an attack resolves" actions

By ryanjamal, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

If two different figures have an ability that is triggered "after an attack resolves," who determines the order those are resolved in? I would assume it is the owner of those figures, and if two different players own the figures it would be in order of initiative.

Here's the scenario. Jedi Luke is adjacent to the Alliance Smuggler. An enemy figure attacks the smuggler. Jedi Luke doesn't have LoS to the enemy because the smuggler is in the way. Can I move the smuggler (because if he isn't defeated he gets two movement points) and then use Luke's deflect ability?

Thanks!

-ryanjamal

Edited by ryanjamal

Timing, page 2 of RRG. Conflicts, RRG.

Ability Resolution Order during attacks

Core/mission rules, attacker (including friendly to attacker), defender (including friendly to defender).

In skirmish with more than 2 players it is adjusted slightly.

(The after attack resolves abilities are triggered at the end of the attack, and the attack is not performed until all the effects triggered from it has been resolved. I also used to think after attack resolves abiities are resolved using the non-attack timing, but I have changed my mind. It makes everything nicely 'recursive', like onion shells.
I.e. for example Attack action, performing an attack, before declaring attack, the 7 other attack steps, after attack resolves abilities, after performing attack abilities, after resolving action abilities like bleeding.)

.. checking the cards ..

Yes, both are (subsets) of the same trigger condition (after a ranged attack resolves which targeted an Alliance Smuggler and a figure adjacent to Jedi Luke), so both can be resolved in the order of the defender's choice. So, the 2mp received from Slippery are received out of the Alliance Smuggler's activation and thus must be spent immediately. After that you return to the trigger, and resolve Deflect. (The Alliance Smuggler does not need to adjacent to Luke anymore, because adjacency was part of the trigger, not an additional condition of the ability which would be checked while resolving the ability.)

Disclaimer: my opinion based on my knowledge of the rules.

Edited by a1bert

Thanks, as always, a1bert. Your thinking was the same as my own, but I wanted to confirm before, say, Worlds :-)

-ryanjamal