Cover conflict / ability argent use

By Cometrulz, in DOOM: The Board Game

I recently bought doom the board game 2016. I think it is an amazing game.

We have a few conflicts that can't seem to be decided on. Players have cards that state ignore cover - does this mean that the ability ignores line of sight as well when attacking. So for example if a enemy was surrounded by a red line and does not have flying would ignore cover allow a marine to shoot it. Or alternatively if the enemy was behind a wall and no line of site can be determined but range is close enough to the enemy and the card ignores cover can the Marine shoot through the wall and ignore line of sight.

Ie please can someone properly explain the ability of ignore cover and what parts of attack or defense it does not affect.

My personal understanding is that it only removes the second defense card but that line of sight must still be true before it's affect can be considered.

Second question some argent powers on the invader stun after an attack. Does this stun happen before the player defends or after defense?

Any response would be appreciated as these two issues had us debating longer than playing.

Edited by Cometrulz

Hello there! Welcome to DOOM.

Line of sight: represents if you can see any part of the enemy. Choose 1 corner of your attacker's space (the square you're standing on) and draw ONE straight line to any corner of the enemy's space. You have line of sight when that line DOES NOT cross a door, wall (black) or blocking terrain (solid red). You still have line of sight if that one line crosses other figures, difficult (dotted blue) and impassible terrain (dotted red).

Cover: even though you can see your enemy, how difficult is it to hit him? To determine if the enemy has cover, draw imaginary lines from the same corner you used to determine line of sight to EACH corner of the enemy. If any of those lines cross a wall, blocking terrain, difficult terrain, or a figure (other than the attacking and defending figures), the defender’s figure has cover.

Remember, to be able to ignore cover, you have to be able to see the figure. Only 1 line from your corner has to see the figure for line of sight.

You cannot see the enemy through: doors, black lines (walls) or solid red lines (blocking terrain).

You can only see through: other figures, dotted blue lines (difficult terrain) and dotted red lines (impassable terrain).

The enemy has cover when one or more line cross: wall, solid red line, other figures and dotted blue lines.

Eg: ignore cover doesn't work through solid red lines since the marine can't see it through that. If the line was dotted red, the marine could see it but the daemon wouldn't have cover. If the line is dotted blue, the Marine can see it but the daemon has cover (but gets ignored due to ignore cover ability).

2nd ℚ: the stun happens after the attack. So only next time the Marine is affected.

Thank you Meekey. 2nd answer still confusing I apologise. So if I am the invader and I have a monster card that the argent power stuns after attack. Does that mean I attack. Defender defends. Defender is stunned for the next attack. or does it mean: I attack. Defender is stunned. Defender cannot defend until after then next attack he receives or makes?

Edited by Cometrulz

The ATTACK stage in DOOM includes all die rolled for damage and cards pulled for defending. ATTACK doesn't only mean rolling dice for damage. So

So something happening AFTER an attack will take place after die and cards have been resolved.

I can understand where your confusion is however. You must be referring to the cacodemon? His ability stuns after the defender has pulled cards and taken damage.

Hope it clears it!!

Thanks Meekey

it appears this is still a contentious issue. My peers are saying that ignore cover means that wall or red line is ignored and they still have line of sight to attack because of the ability.

So if a monster was in another room standing next to a wall and on the other side is a marine with the ignore cover cards, the situation my peers are saying is that even though you cannot trace line of sight that because the ignore cover card comes into play the walls are ignored no cover is available and therefore they have line of site and can attack the monstor whom obviously will not use the cover ability.

My understanding of the rules is that line of sight must first be determined as per the attack rules. If no line of site can be determined the ignore cover ability cannot be applied.

Im not sure how to resolve this rule discrepancy with them.

5 hours ago, Cometrulz said:

Thanks Meekey

it appears this is still a contentious issue. My peers are saying that ignore cover means that wall or red line is ignored and they still have line of sight to attack because of the ability.

So if a monster was in another room standing next to a wall and on the other side is a marine with the ignore cover cards, the situation my peers are saying is that even though you cannot trace line of sight that because the ignore cover card comes into play the walls are ignored no cover is available and therefore they have line of site and can attack the monstor whom obviously will not use the cover ability.

My understanding of the rules is that line of sight must first be determined as per the attack rules. If no line of site can be determined the ignore cover ability cannot be applied.

Im not sure how to resolve this rule discrepancy with them.

Short answer: your friends are wrong.

Here's a first basic rule of thumb: If you do not have Line of Sight, you cannot attack. Ever. Period.

Long answer: Ok, so it sounds like your friend's don't actually understand what does or does not constitute as Cover, nor do they understand that Cover and Line of Sight are two different, distinct terms.

It sounds like your friends are thinking that "walls" are the same thing as "cover". They're not. "Cover" is a very specific term with a specific definition. This ability does not let you shoot through walls, because "walls" are not "cover."

The wording in the rules and on the cards in this game is very specific for a reason: to avoid mixups like the one you're having. Cover and Line of Sight have their own separate entries in the Rules Reference for a reason: because they're NOT the same thing. If the ability allowed you to ignore Line of Sight it would explicitly state "Ignore Line of Sight." This ability does not say that; it says "ignores cover." So, when this issue comes up, open up the Rules Reference and read the description of Cover: what is listed in those rules, AND ONLY what is listed in those rules can be ignored.

The basic gist of this ability is that you're denying your target the ability to re-draw his defense card (which he would normally be able to do, if he had cover). That's it. It's not a particularly powerful ability on its own. And it absolutely, positively, does not allow you to shoot through walls (meaning both solid black and solid red lines).

Edited by Demax51

Thank you Demax51.

Its proves hard at times to translate rules when different parties interpret it differently.

Your explanation above is how I understand it and tried to convey across.

Hopefully we can resolve the issue around cover now.

If an ability or card stats that it ignore cover or cover is ignored it means a figure that would normally be able to claim cover, now cannot, so only one card can be drawn for defence. I can't even imagine how it could be interpreted to allow line of sight through walls. If so wouldn't that be an ability that ignores all terrain and walls?

On 14/03/2017 at 6:00 AM, Mighty Martin said:

If an ability or card stats that it ignore cover or cover is ignored it means a figure that would normally be able to claim cover, now cannot, so only one card can be drawn for defence. I can't even imagine how it could be interpreted to allow line of sight through walls. If so wouldn't that be an ability that ignores all terrain and walls?

Yep. So Demons that fly, for eg, only ignore terrain and NOT walls. Walls and terrain are differently defined.