On p. 20 of the rules, it says that some talents are passive and are always in effect, while other talents must be exhausted (at a cost of 4 tokens) to be used. Some of the talents cards are clearly meant to be exhausted, "Exhaust this card to gain...", where others seems to be applicable only in certain circumstances, suggesting that these are the passive talents which do not exhaust.
But the example on p.20 shows the "Silver Tongue" talent exhausted with 4 tokens on it, despite the fact that that talent would seem to be a passive talent.
So,
1) is the example on p. 20 incorrect?
or
2) do all talents exhaust themselves unless otherwise stated?