The Grand Inquisitor "Defensive" Ability

By Shriyke, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi,

Had an unusual situation crop up regarding the "Defensive" ability of the Grand Inquisitor (which reads "While defending, if you did not roll a "block" result, apply +1 "block" to the defense results"). The confusion was regarding this and Element of Surprise, which had removed the Inquisitor's defense dice.

My question is; does the Inquisitor apply +1 block to the defense results when he doesn't roll a dice (as he "failed to roll" a block result)?

Thanks in advance

I believe the answer is yes.

-ryanjamal

If there is no defense die, you cannot roll a block result, thus Defensive should add 1 block to the defense results.

It's pretty direct literal interpretation for "did not roll a block".

Thanks guys.