Newbie question: XO'ing

By rashktah, in Battlestar Galactica

Hi!

I'm new to this game, but I am looking forward to playing it for the first time sometimes in the future.

I do have a question about one of the skill cards, though...

When XO'ing (Executive Order) someone, when does it happen?

The active player takes his action to XO another player who immediately takes the actions stated on the card? Or does the player take the boosed actions in his/her upcomming turn?

May the active player declare himself to be XO'ed?

What happens if I XO Kara Thrace (while she is in a Viper in space)? How many actions will she be able to take (as she already has two actions due to her character card ability)?

Thanks for any help you can give me! :-)

i dont have the cards so out of memory:

instantly, executive order targets ANOTHER player, when kara thrace STARTS HER TURN piloting a viper she gets an additional action

Hi mate,

Target of XO gets its free actions immediately after it was used - you may think of it as "move and act instead of me".

The XO card states quite clearly that you must target any other player (ie. not yourself).

IIRC Kara's ability gives her an extra action during her turn if she starts the turn in viper, so I doubt she gets an extra action during XO. Then again I have a translated version, so I don't know the English wording.

Hope that helped :]

D.

I have the german version of the game and, in translated word for word, the cards states me to 'target a player'.

Not 'another' player, but 'a' player. Could be me, too.

Could someone please quote the saying of the original (english) card? Thanks!!! :)

choose any other player......................

Most (if not all) cards that allow targeting of players, need to target other player. This is especially true in case of quorum cards (eg. Choose Mission Specialist, the vicepresident card, "get out of jail free" card).

Dheran said:

Most (if not all) cards that allow targeting of players, need to target other player. This is especially true in case of quorum cards (eg. Choose Mission Specialist, the vicepresident card, "get out of jail free" card).

The german card states "Aktion: 1 Spieler wählen." which translates to "Action: Choose 1 player". It does not state 'any other player' which is really confusing if you're new to the rules. ^.^

One last question: what does the additional rule 'only usable 1x per turn' mean? Every player can only XO one other player per turn or only one XO may be played per game round?

We have always played it as one per character turn - i.e., Adama may XO Starbuck, but Starbuck doesn't get to play an XO as one of her actions.

It's one per turn. I don't believe there's no such thing as a "game round" in BSG.

If you want to avoid translation problems, Board Game Geek's Pegasus section has an excel file with the English text of all of the cards in it.

James McMurray said:

It's one per turn. I don't believe there's no such thing as a "game round" in BSG.

If you want to avoid translation problems, Board Game Geek's Pegasus section has an excel file with the English text of all of the cards in it.

Everybody can XO any other player. Right?

rashktah said:

So player 1 may XO player 2, player 2 XOs player 1, player 3 XOs player 1 again, ...

Everybody can XO any other player. Right?

Yes. Player 1 may XO player 2, who then takes two actions (or a move then an action). Player 1 would then draw a crisis card, resolve it, and that turn ends. On player 2's turn, he or she may XO another player, who then takes two actions (or a move then an action), and the pattern proceeds.

The only real restriction is that an XO'd player cannot play an XO as one or both of the actions that he or she gets. In other words, you can only play an XO on YOUR turn. If you are XO'd, it's not YOUR turn, it's still the XO'ing players.

Thanks, now everything's clear. :)

It's a very powerful card, I have to say. In a four player game, the fourth player would have 7 actions if every one of the first three players would XO him/her. Wow.

I think you misunderstood us: XO gives the actions immediately to targeted player ("move and make actions instead of me") and there is a limit of one XO per current player turn (the one with the BSG logo with him, if you use it).

Even though another player takes actions, current player doesn't change, so XOed player cannot use another XO (in other words you can't chain XO's).

Answering to your question, the player would have 7 actions, but they would be divided into other players turns (2/2/2/1 consequently). It is powerful but not as much as you are forgeting that other players won't do anything (XO requires an action to use).

D.

Dheran said:

Answering to your question, the player would have 7 actions, but they would be divided into other players turns (2/2/2/1 consequently). It is powerful but not as much as you are forgeting that other players won't do anything (XO requires an action to use).

D.

:)

Brilliant, thank you all very much... now I know how XOs are being used. :-))))

in addition the critical situation (pegasus) card can not be played with an XO in the same turn by either of the two players.

rashktah said:

Thanks, now everything's clear. :)

It's a very powerful card, I have to say. In a four player game, the fourth player would have 7 actions if every one of the first three players would XO him/her. Wow.

Yes - but all the other players have given up taking an action so focussing the human activity on one field of activity, there are crises separating the various double actions, the player needs to use action cards unless they are using a board space's action. Add to that that until the Cylons have revealed you may end up handing a Cylon opportunities.

How well Executive Actions get used is at the core of the game - to win the Humans have to use them to increase their activity in relation to crises, and later in the game to make up for the missing humans who have turned out to be Cylons. So yes, it is one of the more important and potent cards in the game in my opinion.