Stops, pattern analyzer and bumps

By apoapsis, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Something came up in a recent game I played with an Upsilon with pattern analyser. A ship bumped into the front of the Upsilon, which then revealed a stop maneuver. Can the Upsilon still use pattern analyser to get an action in this case? My reading of this is yes, as the FAQ states that a stop will result in the two still touching , while the loss of an action is a result of the ship overlapping . Is this correct?

Quote

If a ship begins its activation touching another ship and executes a 0 maneuver (or executes a maneuver that does not move the ship away), the ships are considered touching. Ships that are touching remain touching until either ship moves away (so that the bases are no longer physically adjacent).

Yes, it can still use its action, and the ships remain touching.

Oh that's a great little interaction I hadn't realised would happen!

An overlap is required to start a "touching" situation but it is not required to maintain one. You generally skip your Perform Action step if you overlap another ship but being overlapped doesn't affect you one bit.

I guess it's just something I've never thought about as it's not a situation that's ever happened whilst I've been playing.

3 hours ago, Goseki1 said:

I guess it's just something I've never thought about as it's not a situation that's ever happened whilst I've been playing.

Keep playing. It'll happen eventually! :)

I think I've been doing this wrong. I always thought a ship skips it's Perform Action step if it couldn't move because another ship was already touching it.

Having read this thread, I realized I missed this part: " or executes a maneuver that does not move the ship away ." So as I now understand it, the maneuver does not have to be a 0-Stationary bearing to meet the conditions of this rule. As long as the ship did not move from its orginal position, the situation is touching , but not overlapping . So this brings two pilots to mind; help me out if I'm wrong:

1 - Captain Oicunn: "After executing a maneuver, each enemy ship you are touching suffers 1 damage."

Oicunn activates while touching an enemy ship, and cannot move from his original position with the maneuver revealed on his dial. The ships remain touching , the enemy ship suffers damage because Oicunn still technically executed a maneuver. Then, because Oicunn did not technically overlap , he does not skip his Perform Action Step.

2 - Heff Tober: "After an enemy ship executes a menauver that causes it to overlap your ship, you may perform a free action."

Heff Tober executes a maneuver and overlaps an enemy ship. The two ships are now touching . The enemy ship reveals a maneuver, but cannot move away from Heff Tober. The enemy ship did not overlap Heff Tober; the ships are touching . Therefore, Heff Tober does not get a free action from his pilot ability.

Edited by jmswood
grammar

@jmswood I think you've still got it wrong here. If you attempt a manoeuvre but your final position will result in an overlap, you slide back up the template until you can place your ship flat on the table. They are now touching as the result of an overlap . If you were touching before the manoeuvre and still couldn't clear the other ship, you have still overlapped the other ship, and skip your Perform Action step as normal.

If you choose a stop manoeuvre, then you have not overlapped because you didn't move at all, but you maintain the touching state. If you choose a manoeuvre other than a stop, then you must attempt to execute it, and if the result is not moving at all, the end result is an overlap and you're touching .

In your example, if Oicunn could not clear the other ship, he would count as overlapping, because his manoeuvre would have had a final position that would overlap the other ship. He doesn't have a stop manoeuvre, so he is not staying stationary. He's attempting to move.

Same applies to Heff Tobber. The other ship attempted a manoeuvre, but the final position was an overlap, so it slides back to it's starting position. It's still an overlap, and Heff triggers.

Remember it's the final position that decides the overlap. If you look at the table and decide that the chosen manoeuvre isn't going to allow you to move the ship (because you won't clear), you must still establish if the final position was going to be on top of another ship's base. If it was, then it was an overlap .

Yep. Touching doesn't skip the action step. Only trying to move and overlapping another ship (or asteroid) does that. If you do overlap another ship, you just happen to be touching as well as skipping your action.

Okay, so I've been doing ot right all along, but I got confused by the earlier posts in the thread, which prompted my post.

Generally the only ways to stay "touching" will involve a Stop maneuver or having an Overlap which will push you all the way back to your starting position although that would trigger a "touching" to the last ship overlapped.

I say "generally" because it appears if you were sliding along the edge of a ship it actually be possible to maintain the touch despite actually covering some ground. It doesn't make much sense to me how you could actually complete a maneuver yet still maintain touching yet I guess it is supposedly possible. A small base making a speed 1 straight perfectly along the edge of a large ship may be the only one I see but the alignments need to be perfect to avoid an overlap.

i think its in the faq that if the two ships that were touching did the same exact maneuver theyre still touching but didnt overlap, though like that ever happens.

As others have said, Stop doesnt cause an overlap since you didnt move at all so you dont skip your action step. UPS is the only ship that can still get an action though (barring Chopper's dumbass being on that ship for some reason) due to the stress. Ive done that quite a bit where i'll stop, PA into Hux and get doublestressed, use Inspiring Recruit to clear both stress next turn.

Only for straights, and only if they were parallel to begin with.

So If I have a large ship base and I end a turn touching a small ship on the side of my base. If I execute a 1 straight manuever hit another ship ahead of me and still am touching the original ship on the side do I have to go back to the beginning or can I complete it until I bump the other ship but with the small ship (the original ship that I was touching) now farther along my base than before?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense.

You slide back along the maneuver template until you're not overlapping any other ships. If you're doing a straight maneuver and there's a ship that starts the turn touching your side, you can wind up still touching that ship but with it in a different place on your side.

Edited by digitalbusker
Strikethrough unnecessary modifier.
2 hours ago, Vineheart01 said:

i think its in the faq that if the two ships that were touching did the same exact maneuver theyre still touching but didnt overlap, though like that ever happens.

...

Actually, if two parallel ship had overlapped the previous round and then both perform the same straight maneuver they WILL NOT overlap or be touching although they may still be physically adjacent to each other. This is basically saying that "we resolved their spacing issues on that turn they overlapped so now if they both maintain the same speed forward they should maintain the same spacing," although moving clear removed the "touching" status between the two.

1 hour ago, sucho23 said:

So If I have a large ship base and I end a turn touching a small ship on the side of my base. If I execute a 1 straight manuever hit another ship ahead of me and still am touching the original ship on the side do I have to go back to the beginning or can I complete it until I bump the other ship but with the small ship (the original ship that I was touching) now farther along my base than before?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense.

Although it seems odd to me because you do get to move it seems the answer is yes. You've obviously overlapped the ship in front of you which then pushes you back to a point where your contact from last round gets maintained. The rules will say that leave you touching that other ship as well although I'd agree that if you are "touching" that ship you should need to move all the way back.

If you want odd have a large ship just make contact where you are parallel to one of its edges but barely touching it. Then the next turn perform a 1 straight which wouldn't carry you past the large base yet still allows you to complete your maneuver while not actually moving away from the large ship. It's possible in theory.