Drowned gods blessing.. Trait

By Notgoodatsowing, in Rules Questions

Hi, the question I have about this card, it gives the card the trait Drowned god.. Now if that card (say for instance, Asha) now has the drowned god trait, and she is killed by one means or another, does she keep that trait drowned god in the dead pile or is it removed? The reason I ask as I am looking at using the old Pyk to raise cards from the dead pile and thought it would be good to see that trait stick! Any clarification on this would be great!

She only has it while the attachment is attached to her.

Yep. It's not like the attachment goes to the dead pile and stays attached to the character, and since attachments cannot work on a character they are not attached to, the character loses any benefit (or penalty) from the attachment when it is killed.

Further, the rules are pretty clear that cards abilities cannot affect cards that are not in play unless they specifically say they do.

So, if you want to use Old Wyk on characters that do not have the printed "Drowned God" trait, you're going to need to find a card effect that specifically says "gains the 'Drowned God' trait while in your dead pile."

Ok, I guessed this would be the case, but I thought I would ask, as I couldn't see anywhere where it said the trait is removed at death, but i makes sense regarding the attachment. To be honest it would have been a bit over powered if it had worked! cheers.

RRG, p. 12:

" Leaves Play

The phrase 'leaves play' refers to any time a card makes a transition from an in play state to an out of play state.

If a card leaves play, the following consequences occur simultaneously with the card leaving play:

x All tokens on the card are returned to the treasury.

x All duplicates on the card are discarded.

x All attachments that are on the card are returned to their owners’ hands.

x All lasting effects and/or delayed effects affecting the card while it is in play expire for that card."

(The last two bullets are key to the question, letting you know that both the attachment and the effect giving it the trait are removed at death.)

Also, RRG, p. 2:

" Abilities ...

x Card abilities only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the ability text specifically refers to an out of play area or element. Card abilities on characters, locations, and attachments can only be initiated or affect the game from an in play area unless they specifically refer to being used from an out of play area, or require that the card be out of play for the ability to resolve. Event cards and agenda cards implicitly interact with the game from an out of play area, as established by the rules of their cardtypes."

Which lets you know the attachment cannot work on a character that is not "in play" without some very specialized text.