Recharge tokens (probably stupid question)

By willmanx, in WFRP Rules Questions

As I understand rules, you put recharge tokens right after a successful action (no tokens when you failed)...

1) but when exactly do you remove recharge tokens ? Is it at the end of the player's current turn, when he has done all his actions and manoeuvres, or is it at the end of the whole party and NPC round ?

2) If my action has a recharge rate of 1, is it correct to say that I put a token right after this action is successful, and that I immediatly remove this token at the end of the turn ? If this is correct, in game you don't have to wait any round then... And a recharge rate 1 = recharge rate 0.

I hope I was clear enough. Thanks for your answers, people.

Yeah, you manage the tokens as soon as the player-turn ends, not the entire round. This means that almost as soon as you use an Action it loses a token. So, the recharge rate (loosely and in general) X doesn't so much mean it takes X rounds to recharge, but more like you can use it every X rounds.

monkeylite said:

Yeah, you manage the tokens as soon as the player-turn ends, not the entire round. This means that almost as soon as you use an Action it loses a token. So, the recharge rate (loosely and in general) X doesn't so much mean it takes X rounds to recharge, but more like you can use it every X rounds.

Thanks !

still, that's odd : you put a token that you immediatly remove :)

willmanx said:

monkeylite said:

Yeah, you manage the tokens as soon as the player-turn ends, not the entire round. This means that almost as soon as you use an Action it loses a token. So, the recharge rate (loosely and in general) X doesn't so much mean it takes X rounds to recharge, but more like you can use it every X rounds.

Thanks !

still, that's odd : you put a token that you immediatly remove :)

Remember though that if you roll an hour glass during the action, the GM could add additional tokens to it

There are not many actions that have recharge 1 though is there anyway?

willmanx said:

monkeylite said:

Yeah, you manage the tokens as soon as the player-turn ends, not the entire round. This means that almost as soon as you use an Action it loses a token. So, the recharge rate (loosely and in general) X doesn't so much mean it takes X rounds to recharge, but more like you can use it every X rounds.

Thanks !

still, that's odd : you put a token that you immediatly remove :)

I imagine it's so you don't have to remember which Actions and things you just played in your turn and which ones were hanging from previously, so you can just remove one from everything.

pumpkin said:

willmanx said:

Remember though that if you roll an hour glass during the action, the GM could add additional tokens to it

There are not many actions that have recharge 1 though is there anyway?

bingo, this is it. it makes those actions a bit riskier to use in a conservative stance because there is a possibility that you could not use them every round. also if you used a 1 recharge card with a slow weapon it would also have the same effect while if you were using a 0 recharge card there is pretty much nothing that the GM could do to keep you from using it every round. another situation where this could come into play is with the action card "who's next?" (i believe that this is the right name, its something like that anyway) which, when used in conservative, can allow an ally to use an attack card after you kill an opponent. if they used a card with a recharge of 1 it would not be available on their next turn because the token would not go away until the end of that turn. there are some other instances as well, but i dont feel like hunting them all down.

so, while it seems like that is not much difference between a 1 and a 0 recharge time on a card, it can make a big difference.