Massive and Line of Sight

By ryanjamal, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Quick question: can you see every space of a massive figure? Or do spaces occupied by a massive figure block LoS to the other spaces of that massive figure?

For instance, if I have a heavy storm trooper right in front of a Bantha, can it see through the Bantha to the back spaces in order to use blast on figures hiding behind the bantha? If not, I assume an eSab can, since it can see through figures, correct?

Thanks!

-ryanjamal

You can draw line of sight through the attacker and the target, so you can target a far-end space the large figure occupies. Note that this affects the required accuracy.

This also makes it harder for Royal Guards to protect 2x3-space figures, because the attacker can choose a different space to target.

Piggyback: Does one Massive figure block LOS to another Massive figure? Example: Stormtrooper is adjacent to Bantha and another Bantha is behind that one. Can the Stormtrooper shoot either Bantha?

"Figures do not block LOS to or from a Massive figure". Massive figures are figures so they do not block LOS to other massive figures. So yes, you can shoot either bantha.

1 hour ago, Smashotron said:

Piggyback: Does one Massive figure block LOS to another Massive figure? Example: Stormtrooper is adjacent to Bantha and another Bantha is behind that one. Can the Stormtrooper shoot either Bantha?

Already answered a few posts above. Edit: well, it's the other thread, it seems.

Rules as written - figures (whatever traits they have) do not block line of sight to and from a massive figure. So massive figures do not block line of sight to or from other massive figures.

Edited by a1bert

Thanks a1bert!

Indeed, thanks!

-ryanjamal

On 2/8/2017 at 8:40 AM, a1bert said:

Already answered a few posts above. Edit: well, it's the other thread, it seems.

Rules as written - figures (whatever traits they have) do not block line of sight to and from a massive figure. So massive figures do not block line of sight to or from other massive figures.

Excellent, it is obvious you are an expert in the rules.

But furthermore, massive figures block line of sight to a figure, ie. a pirate is behind a rancor?

Yes. All figures block line of sight to and from a non-massive figure.