Priest Casting

By player110486, in WFRP Rules Questions

So I thought the Mage casting was very clear... you gather power as an action or cast a spell you have power for... or you can gather power and then cast at a penalty of <p>.

I am not sure about Priest casting... so I choose a spell to cast (regardless of how much favor I have), and roll for successes. If it fails, i am done. If it succeeds then I note down the results and they take place when I have enough favor. So... can I use a gather favor action on the same time I invoke a spell like a mage or not? What if I am 1 favor short, does the spell cast when I collect the favor for the end of my turn? Do the recharge tokens go on it when I make the roll and succeed or when I actually have the favor to make it happen?

Thanks,

imanfasil said:

So I thought the Mage casting was very clear... you gather power as an action or cast a spell you have power for... or you can gather power and then cast at a penalty of <p>.

I am not sure about Priest casting... so I choose a spell to cast (regardless of how much favor I have), and roll for successes. If it fails, i am done. If it succeeds then I note down the results and they take place when I have enough favor. So... can I use a gather favor action on the same time I invoke a spell like a mage or not? What if I am 1 favor short, does the spell cast when I collect the favor for the end of my turn? Do the recharge tokens go on it when I make the roll and succeed or when I actually have the favor to make it happen?

Thanks,

You the blessing you want to invoke (that's the Priest equivalent of selecting a spell to cast).

Next, you make your check to Invoke the blessing (usually an Invocation test with a Simple challenge level, meaning no Challenge dice added).

If you are successful, then put an amount of favour on the card equal to the amount listed in the Requirement section of the Blessing card.

If you have enough favour, the Blessing goes off, and you check your success line and any side effects triggered by the check to Invoke the Blessing.

If you don't have enough favour, you can either try to Curry Favour right then or just wait until your next activation to Curry Favour.

If you choose to Curry Favor in the same activation in which you Invoked the Blessing, you must add a Challenge die to the dice pool for using Curry Favour.

When you gain your favour int he End of Turn phase, it is not gathered by the waiting Invocation until the start of your next turn. If you were only 1 favour shy, then the Blessing will go off on that turn (after the Beginning of Turn phase).

If you were more than 1 favour shy, the favour gained at the end of the previous turn is still gathered by the waiting invocation, but it does not go off until it has the necessary favour.

Regarding when the recharge tokens are placed on the card, I'm not sure about that. It would depend on when recharge tokens are normally added to the card. If the recharge tokens are placed immediately after thesuccessful action check, then the recharge tokens would be added as soon as the successful Invocation check is made.If the tokens are not added until the success and/or side effect lines are resolved, then the recharge tokens would not be added until the Blessing goes off once it has the necessary favour.

thank you very much... I admit I closely read the mage side of casting, and then didn't look as closely at the priest side... then had a player who wanted to run one last night so we stumbled through it. I tried looking a few things up quickly but didn't find them, so we just winged it and did it pretty close to right.