Timing Question on an Action

By deltabob2, in WFRP Rules Questions

I know that the recharge tokens are placed on an action right after it is successfully achieved. If one of the side effects allows for a recharge token to be removed from one of the player's cards, can it be removed from the card that triggered the effect?

Basically, do the recharge tokens go on the Action card immediately after it is determined to be a successful action, or do they not go on until after all effects associated with that card are resolved?

I'm pretty sure the tokens go on before the action is resolved. I havent got any cards with me but if I remember correctly dont they often/usually say . Put x number of tokens on this card to do y&z?

Deltabob said:

I know that the recharge tokens are placed on an action right after it is successfully achieved. If one of the side effects allows for a recharge token to be removed from one of the player's cards, can it be removed from the card that triggered the effect?

Basically, do the recharge tokens go on the Action card immediately after it is determined to be a successful action, or do they not go on until after all effects associated with that card are resolved?

Althought I have no rule to back it up, my gut tells me you resolve all the lines of the card THEN add the tokens. The action card has to be successful so I would say all lines have to be resolved as part of the action completetion, then it's successful, then you add tokens.

Pretty sure Sinister is right - since you don't add tokens to an action if it isn't succesfull.

Sinister said:

Deltabob said:

I know that the recharge tokens are placed on an action right after it is successfully achieved. If one of the side effects allows for a recharge token to be removed from one of the player's cards, can it be removed from the card that triggered the effect?

Basically, do the recharge tokens go on the Action card immediately after it is determined to be a successful action, or do they not go on until after all effects associated with that card are resolved?

Althought I have no rule to back it up, my gut tells me you resolve all the lines of the card THEN add the tokens. The action card has to be successful so I would say all lines have to be resolved as part of the action completetion, then it's successful, then you add tokens.

I'm going the other way. The tokens get placed if the action is successful. If you have boon effects to a combat attack that add damage or cause criticals, you probably want to resolve those right away. All other effects can be resolved in step 7 of the combat sequence, which includes "other boon or bane effects that still need to be resolved." I would include an effect that allowed you to remove a recharge token from one of your cards in that list.

What if a delay symbol will occur? Can a GM put 2 recharging tokens on that card which a Player has used?

mac40k said:

Sinister said:

Deltabob said:

I know that the recharge tokens are placed on an action right after it is successfully achieved. If one of the side effects allows for a recharge token to be removed from one of the player's cards, can it be removed from the card that triggered the effect?

Basically, do the recharge tokens go on the Action card immediately after it is determined to be a successful action, or do they not go on until after all effects associated with that card are resolved?

Althought I have no rule to back it up, my gut tells me you resolve all the lines of the card THEN add the tokens. The action card has to be successful so I would say all lines have to be resolved as part of the action completetion, then it's successful, then you add tokens.

I'm going the other way. The tokens get placed if the action is successful. If you have boon effects to a combat attack that add damage or cause criticals, you probably want to resolve those right away. All other effects can be resolved in step 7 of the combat sequence, which includes "other boon or bane effects that still need to be resolved." I would include an effect that allowed you to remove a recharge token from one of your cards in that list.

Given that fortune can remove recharges, etc, it hardly matters when it is done except for the sake of being consistant with your group. I don't agree with Mac, but I hardly see myself complaining doing it his way as a player or GM.