A VERY lame question

By araszewskis, in Talisman Rules Questions

araszewskis said:

1. When the Dark Denizens Event is in effect does the Sage look at the top card of Adventure deck or of the Dungeon deck?

2. Can we drink the Elixir of Strenght and such after rolling a die in battle/psychic combat?

3. Does the Displacement Spell works on the Academy in the same way as Destruction Spell?

4. Can we teloport to the same space that we are in (if the card doesn't state 'any OTHER space in that region')?

5. Can the Weakness Spell make the Enemy's strenght lower than 0? Does the spell work on strenght bonus provided with Followers or Objects (when casted on a character)?

6. Can the Sorceress attack/beguile any other character that she lands on AND take a Follower from them?

Thanks in advance for any help happy.gif

1. Yes. FAQ says the Prophetess can use her ability with Dungeon Cards also when Dark Denizens is in play, and so does the Sage.

2.Yes, but not for the purpose of winning the combat. You can drink it after rolling if you're not dead but you can't use the Strength bonus to calculate your combat score for that combat. If you want the bonus for the current combat, you must drink the Elixir before rolling. The same principle applies to all Spells and Objects that grant bonuses; everything should be used before rolling the die.

3. It does work, but Displacement moves the Academy in another space, while Destruction discards the Place Adventure card from the board. Your question is not clear, perhaps you mean that Displacement may be used to move Academy so that the Character there loses the bonuses he paid for. I would say yes, since the Character is not moved with the Academy as per "Idol FAQ".

4. No. Card does state "any OTHER space".

5.No & No. Lower than 0 is not possible and Weakness works only on "natural" Strength.

6.No. You may either use ONE ability or attack a Character you land on.

Like my game duration is shorter than Warlock's, so do my replies come quicker gui%C3%B1o.gif .

I kid lengua.gif !

Thanks! gran_risa.gif

This 'any other space' issue comes from inappropriate translation of my language version of Talisman (there are some cards that do not state 'other' in my version). So does the Sorceress issue.

Hi!

1. Recently I had problems with cards on non-draw-a-card spaces (Tavern, Chapel, Kitchen are the examples). So do we encounter all the cards that are placed here before encountering the space itself? For example if the Holy Grail is on the Village space and an evil character lands there does he roll a die at Mystic before encountering The Grail?

Another situation is with Circle of Summoning. Is it considered a draw X cards space? I think not. Then before encountering The Circle you take all Objects there, visit Strangers and Places. Is that right? What if there are Enemies on that space?

2. Can you respond to a Shatter Spell cast by another character with replacing objects in the Bag of Holding, Concealed Pouch (before he declares what he wants to shatter)?

3. If a character has the Orb of Prophesy and lands on the Ruins space with one Place card faceup does he draw two cards and chooses one of the three to discard or maybe only from the two just drawn? Can you use Orb of Prophesy after defeating Crypt Keeper?

araszewskis said:

Hi!

1. Recently I had problems with cards on non-draw-a-card spaces (Tavern, Chapel, Kitchen are the examples). So do we encounter all the cards that are placed here before encountering the space itself? For example if the Holy Grail is on the Village space and an evil character lands there does he roll a die at Mystic before encountering The Grail?

Another situation is with Circle of Summoning. Is it considered a draw X cards space? I think not. Then before encountering The Circle you take all Objects there, visit Strangers and Places. Is that right? What if there are Enemies on that space?

2. Can you respond to a Shatter Spell cast by another character with replacing objects in the Bag of Holding, Concealed Pouch (before he declares what he wants to shatter)?

3. If a character has the Orb of Prophesy and lands on the Ruins space with one Place card faceup does he draw two cards and chooses one of the three to discard or maybe only from the two just drawn? Can you use Orb of Prophesy after defeating Crypt Keeper?

#1: Card comes first.

#2: It's one of those things that hasn't been ruled on (very similar to when is the last moment to ditch/etc. something when in combat for example). I wouldn't allow it personally, target of the Shatter Spell has no idea it going to hit him until his Bag goes poof.

#3: I'd say you choose one from the two drawn, the one already in the space can't be changed (unless you're Philosopher). Prophetess can use her ability after defeating Crypt Keeper, so I would think OoP would work as well.

Thanks Dam gran_risa.gif

What about Circle of Summoning? If there are some cards on that space (including Enemies) do you encounter them all and after that summon an Enemy/draw a card?

I don't think Summoning Circle is a draw X card space, even at the end it says if there are no Enemies in the Dungeon, draw 1 card. Though it does create some weird interaction, namely if there is already an Enemy at SC, you encounter cards already there first, fight the Enemy, etc., then SC and summon an Enemy and encounter that Enemy.

Well, in my opinion Summoning Circle should read:

Draw 1 card. You don't draw a card if there is already one on that space or if there is a faceup Enemy in the Dungeon. In this case move the nearest Enemy to this space (if two Enemies are considered to be the nearest you choose the one you want to encounter).

And by the way can we add 2 to the score (with the Lone-Dwarf Follower) in Treasure Chamber if the attack results in stand off or you lose?

The_Warlock said:

araszewskis said:

1. When the Dark Denizens Event is in effect does the Sage look at the top card of Adventure deck or of the Dungeon deck?

2. Can we drink the Elixir of Strenght and such after rolling a die in battle/psychic combat?

3. Does the Displacement Spell works on the Academy in the same way as Destruction Spell?

4. Can we teloport to the same space that we are in (if the card doesn't state 'any OTHER space in that region')?

5. Can the Weakness Spell make the Enemy's strenght lower than 0? Does the spell work on strenght bonus provided with Followers or Objects (when casted on a character)?

6. Can the Sorceress attack/beguile any other character that she lands on AND take a Follower from them?

Thanks in advance for any help happy.gif

1. Yes. FAQ says the Prophetess can use her ability with Dungeon Cards also when Dark Denizens is in play, and so does the Sage.

2.Yes, but not for the purpose of winning the combat. You can drink it after rolling if you're not dead but you can't use the Strength bonus to calculate your combat score for that combat. If you want the bonus for the current combat, you must drink the Elixir before rolling. The same principle applies to all Spells and Objects that grant bonuses; everything should be used before rolling the die.

3. It does work, but Displacement moves the Academy in another space, while Destruction discards the Place Adventure card from the board. Your question is not clear, perhaps you mean that Displacement may be used to move Academy so that the Character there loses the bonuses he paid for. I would say yes, since the Character is not moved with the Academy as per "Idol FAQ".

4. No. Card does state "any OTHER space".

5.No & No. Lower than 0 is not possible and Weakness works only on "natural" Strength.

6.No. You may either use ONE ability or attack a Character you land on.

Ad .6 When Sorceress encounter another character she can take a Follower regardless from any battle or beguile as it is stated on her abilities and in this case she is much better that Vampiress. Page 15 of the rules: "In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variavce with the basic rules the special ability or effect always overridesthe rules"

Croonos said:

Ad .6 When Sorceress encounter another character she can take a Follower regardless from any battle or beguile as it is stated on her abilities and in this case she is much better that Vampiress. Page 15 of the rules: "In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variavce with the basic rules the special ability or effect always overrides the rules"

Your interpretation is not correct, sorry. The Golden Rule "Special Ability vs. Rules" has the following purpose: if the text of a Character Special Ability says something which is in conflict with the basic rules, the Special Ability text applies instead of the Rules.

An example is the Warrior's ability that allows him to use two Weapons in battle, while other Characters can't as per page 12 "Weapon" and "Armour" Keywords rule.

Sorceress ability says:

"you may take any one Follower, except the Maiden, Unicorn, or Princess, from a Character that you land on".

There's no statement that overrides rules, including the very basic rule that you can EITHER attack OR use ONE special ability when you land on a Character and choose to encounter him/her.

If it was meant as you say, the ability should read:

"you may take any one Follower, except the Maiden, Unicorn, or Princess, from a Character that you land on, in addition to attacking or beguiling him"

Sorry, I have the BI version. In fact this ability has been changed in FFG Revised 4th edition.