A VERY lame question

By araszewskis, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi,

I'm new to the forums. I mean this is my first topic but I've been searching through for quite a long time happy.gif

Recently, during a Talisman game we had a problem with... A Bag of Gold preocupado.gif

Now in my version of the game it states something like this " Immediately exchange this card for one gold piece, then put it on the discard pile". There comes the question: If we draw a card that has a lower resolving(?) number then a Bag of Gold and tells us either to immediately end the current turn (Siren) or teleport to other space (Imp) AND a Bag of Gold do we:

a) Exchange the Bag of Gold (as the card states - immediately) before resolving an Imp or Siren then place the gold piece on the space where it's been drawn so that a player who visits that space later still draw 2 cards.

That would actually make sense since the rules tell us to resolve any cards that appear in other space then the space where they've been drawn, for example Ghost or Hermit.

b) Treat it as any other Object - leave it "unopened". The next time a player visits that space draw only one card.

In this case though a player who takes the Bag of Gold (I think it'll be good if I make an abbreviation for it. - BoG lengua.gif ) got to have at least one space in his/her racksack free, take the BoG THEN exchange it for a gold piece.

So basically the question is: do we exchange the BoG IMMEDIATELY after drawing it or maybe after taking it to our possession?

Well, I hope I didn't confuse you with this boring deduction lengua.gif

Hi araszewskis,

If you draw a Imp and a bag of gold, then you will be teleported to a other space, and the bag of gold card will stay on the space ( you will not encounter it ! gui%C3%B1o.gif

Well if you draw an Imp and Ghost you do not encounter Ghost but still you roll a die to detrmine where it appears.

So the Bag isn't considered this way and you exchange it after you encounter it? If so do you got to have a free space in your racksack when taking the bag (its an object) and THEN replace it with gold? Or maybe I'm wrong?

araszewskis said:

Well if you draw an Imp and Ghost you do not encounter Ghost but still you roll a die to detrmine where it appears.

So the Bag isn't considered this way and you exchange it after you encounter it? If so do you got to have a free space in your racksack when taking the bag (its an object) and THEN replace it with gold? Or maybe I'm wrong?

If you may encounter the Bag of gold, then you exchange it immediately for a gold token. The card will say how much gold you have found.

Ok, thanks Velhart. One more question. Elf's ability says that we don't have to roll a die in the forest but if we do we have to accept the result. Does this mean we cannot use a Fate token to reroll the die?

araszewskis said:

Ok, thanks Velhart. One more question. Elf's ability says that we don't have to roll a die in the forest but if we do we have to accept the result. Does this mean we cannot use a Fate token to reroll the die?

You can still use a fate token.

With a fate token, you can re-roll the die, so that you will cancel the first result.

Thank you very much!

I don't know if it's been said on these forums but do the Events like Blizzard, Prophecy, etc. stay on spaces where they were drawn until they wear out?

We know that we cannot voluntairly lose the Hag, Poltergeist and Jester. What if we have only one of those Followers and take the 'Lose One Follower' warlock quest. I think they have to be discarded since when conditions of the quest are met we must complete it. Am I right?

araszewskis said:

Thank you very much!

I don't know if it's been said on these forums but do the Events like Blizzard, Prophecy, etc. stay on spaces where they were drawn until they wear out?

Yes

araszewskis said:

We know that we cannot voluntairly lose the Hag, Poltergeist and Jester. What if we have only one of those Followers and take the 'Lose One Follower' warlock quest. I think they have to be discarded since when conditions of the quest are met we must complete it. Am I right?

Yes

A warlock quest must be completed as soon as possible.

But if you have other followers, then you cannot choose for the Poltergeist and Jester. ( With The Hag, you have no followers)

araszewskis said:

I don't know if it's been said on these forums but do the Events like Blizzard, Prophecy, etc. stay on spaces where they were drawn until they wear out?

We know that we cannot voluntairly lose the Hag, Poltergeist and Jester. What if we have only one of those Followers and take the 'Lose One Follower' warlock quest. I think they have to be discarded since when conditions of the quest are met we must complete it. Am I right?

Yes, Events that last for many Turns stay on spaces and count as cards towards that space drawing rules.

I think it's possible to complete the Warlock's Quest by losing one of these Followers, since they have the Follower keyword. The only restriction is: you must have only one of them.

Maybe this is a reason why Warlock Quests should be random chosen, otherwise a Character with the Hag may go to the Warlock's Cave, choose this quest, rid himself of the Hag and gain a Talisman!

The_Warlock said:

Maybe this is a reason why Warlock Quests should be random chosen, otherwise a Character with the Hag may go to the Warlock's Cave, choose this quest, rid himself of the Hag and gain a Talisman!

I've always played with random quests. They were random in base Talisman, why shouldn't they be random with the Reaper?

araszewskis said:

I've always played with random quests. They were random in base Talisman, why shouldn't they be random with the Reaper?

Yay, true believer aplauso.gif ! Frostmarch rules makes them officially random (again). I also play Treasure as random, ditto for character draw (and only single random char, none of the draw 3, choose 1 from them crap gui%C3%B1o.gif ).

Your question brings up a very interesting issue, araszewskis.

Where does it say that bag of gold does not require you to have an empty slot in order to be picked up?

If you do not have to, what about chest and casket and similar? Can you exchange them without having any slot left in your inventory?

Just to add perspective, you need to have a slot free if you want to use the raft.

I have always played that you get the coins regardless of if you have space left in your inventory or not, but on the other hand that you must have at least one space left for casket and chest etc. But maybe this not as clear as I have thought

Hinnyboy said:

Your question brings up a very interesting issue, araszewskis.

Where does it say that bag of gold does not require you to have an empty slot in order to be picked up?

If you do not have to, what about chest and casket and similar? Can you exchange them without having any slot left in your inventory?

Just to add perspective, you need to have a slot free if you want to use the raft.

I have always played that you get the coins regardless of if you have space left in your inventory or not, but on the other hand that you must have at least one space left for casket and chest etc. But maybe this not as clear as I have thought

a BOG is not classed as an abject therefore it does not take up any space, however, the casket is an object thus you need one space to pick it up even if you use it straight away

ososober said:

a BOG is not classed as an abject therefore it does not take up any space, however, the casket is an object thus you need one space to pick it up even if you use it straight away

Remember that if we assume that BOG isn't an Object then we cannot take it from the Crypt Keeper.

I have a few another questions.

Can Philosopher discard a spell that he starts with and take another one?

Can Gypsy avoid Events that do not affect all players (Imp, Werewolf , Horse Thief, etc.)?

Do raised from the dead Ghoul's friends use their special abilities in battle (Stone Golem, Pack of Wolves, Goblin Trapsmith, etc.)?

What happens if we discard an already faceup Event card with Destruction Spell or Philosopher's ability (Dark Denizens, Prophecy, Blizzard, etc.)?

Can we cast Reflection Spell if someone casts a Misdirection Spell? If so does anything happen?

Thanks in advance for any answers. :)

araszewskis said:

Can Philosopher discard a spell that he starts with and take another one?

Can Gypsy avoid Events that do not affect all players (Imp, Werewolf , Horse Thief, etc.)?

Do raised from the dead Ghoul's friends use their special abilities in battle (Stone Golem, Pack of Wolves, Goblin Trapsmith, etc.)?

What happens if we discard an already faceup Event card with Destruction Spell or Philosopher's ability (Dark Denizens, Prophecy, Blizzard, etc.)?

Can we cast Reflection Spell if someone casts a Misdirection Spell? If so does anything happen?

Thanks in advance for any answers. :)

#1: Yes.

#2: Yes.

#3: No.

#4: Hmm. Goes away?

#5: Since it's not their turn, nothing.

Quick question:

Can you cast a Spell Call in order to take a Spell from Genie or the Spell Ring?

And sorry for abusing your patience happy.gif

araszewskis said:

Quick question:

Can you cast a Spell Call in order to take a Spell from Genie or the Spell Ring?

And sorry for abusing your patience happy.gif

Spell Call doesn't "steal" a Spell from anyone, you use it when a Spell is cast (even one of your own, Strength/Craft Spells come to mind) to take the just-cast Spell to your hand (assuming you're not at Spell limit). FAQ says the Gypsy can take a Spell cast by/from either of the two. Although Spell Call is worded slightly differently, I'd say you can use it.

Yeah, I've read that in FAQ but whilst the Gypsy can take any spell that is just put on the discard pile, the Spell Call can only take a spell cast by a character.

If we look at Magical Vortex and Nullyfy question at FAQ (about Genie) we'll see that effects that affect characters' Spells do not affect Spells in possession of Genie or Spell Ring

On the other hand it's very unlogical so... preocupado.gif

Yeah, Vortex won't suck off the Spells under Genie or SR, but the Spells are still treated as cast by the character possessing the Genie/SR.

Ok that sounds very reasonable. Thanks! gran_risa.gif

If I remember right, the Genie and Ring do say "Treat the spell as if just cast by the character," which would fulfill the requirement for Spell Call.

I don't have the cards right in front of me, so if someone could verify, thanks.

Ok, here is another question: when we use Finger of Death Spell in battle against multile enemies they are all dead? Or maybe only one of them dies?

And by the way can I find somewhere in the Internet a list of game compotents in original language? I've seen one for the Frostmarch Expansion and since I have some battle/psychic combat issues (they are translated slightly differently) that would come in handy.

araszewskis said:

Ok, here is another question: when we use Finger of Death Spell in battle against multile enemies they are all dead? Or maybe only one of them dies?

Only one of them. gui%C3%B1o.gif

You may decide.

1. When the Dark Denizens Event is in effect does the Sage look at the top card of Adventure deck or of the Dungeon deck?

2. Can we drink the Elixir of Strenght and such after rolling a die in battle/psychic combat?

3. Does the Displacement Spell works on the Academy in the same way as Destruction Spell?

4. Can we teloport to the same space that we are in (if the card doesn't state 'any OTHER space in that region')?

5. Can the Weakness Spell make the Enemy's strenght lower than 0? Does the spell work on strenght bonus provided with Followers or Objects (when casted on a character)?

6. Can the Sorceress attack/beguile any other character that she lands on AND take a Follower from them?

Thanks in advance for any help happy.gif

araszewskis said:

1. When the Dark Denizens Event is in effect does the Sage look at the top card of Adventure deck or of the Dungeon deck?

2. Can we drink the Elixir of Strenght and such after rolling a die in battle/psychic combat?

3. Does the Displacement Spell works on the Academy in the same way as Destruction Spell?

4. Can we teloport to the same space that we are in (if the card doesn't state 'any OTHER space in that region')?

5. Can the Weakness Spell make the Enemy's strenght lower than 0? Does the spell work on strenght bonus provided with Followers or Objects (when casted on a character)?

6. Can the Sorceress attack/beguile any other character that she lands on AND take a Follower from them?

#1: Since he's drawing Dungeon cards, Dungeon deck. Though really, since he can potentially draw from either deck if he is at say Ruins at the start of his turn, he can IMO look at the top card of both decks at all times.

#2: Pre-rolling only.

"Any effects or abilities that
affect a character’s Strength or Craft must be implemented
before the attack roll is made." (p. 10)

#3: I would play it like that. Academy is more than happy to take the money and relocate gran_risa.gif .

#4: Based on the wording you could, but since you never encounter the space you start in, unless you've gone somewhere else first, kinda pointless. But IIRC, it's meant to be any other space.

#5: Probably won't go below zero. I'll get back to you on the other one.

#6: You can use one special ability when you encounter another char. Sorceress thus has 4 options: 1) battle, 2) psychic combat, 3) take Follower, 4) beguile