Talabheim Detachment - is this possible?

By player1443430, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

In Path of Zealot Empire gets unit: Talabheim Detachment. It has:

"Action: Spend 1 resource to return this unit to its owner's hand"

Can I return this unit if:

1. Unit is on discard pile?

2. Unit is killed and it's about to send to discard pile but I can use action?

3. If i will sacrifice this unit on any means?

4. Can my opponent can use this action on my unit?

1) No - it is from play, not the discard pile

2) Yes, damage can be assigned, and then you can play the card to bring it back to your hand.

3) No, if you sacrifice the unit, you can't bring it back to your hand (this last one is my interpretation)

cards in the discard pile have no abilities to activate

sacrificed units must go to the discard pile.. thats in the rulebook

Bardok said:

4. Can my opponent can use this action on my unit?

Opponent can only use Actions on your Units if their wording specifically mentions it (Morathi's Pegasus IIRC let's opponent pay 3 to remove its Toughness 3 for the turn).

1. Unit is on discard pile?
No. No card abilities work from out of play unless the ability specifically says otherwise (this is different than the card effects of a tactic which must be triggered from hand).

2. Unit is killed and it's about to send to discard pile but I can use action?
Sort of. You may not use the ability if the unit has been killed/destroyed because that would require it to have dakage counters equal to or greater than its HP and once that happens there is no player action window in which to use this ability, even as a response. You may return it to hand however after it has a lethal amount of damage assigned to it, before it is applied. Any damage that had been assigned to it is discarded, not reassigned when the unit leaves play.

3. If i will sacrifice this unit on any means?
No a sacrifice cannot be stopped, and in a lot of cases a non-forced sacrifice is the cost to trigger an effect, if you could return it to hand you would not have paid the effects cost so it would fail to trigger.

4. Can my opponent can use this action on my unit?
No. Like an ability triggering from out of play, you can only ever trigger an opponents card that you do not control if the ability specifically states that you may do so.

Thanks for help! :)