I am just about to start playing this game with my room mate, I have read the living hell out of the rule book and been reading around the forums, but how developments work is what I am having trouble dealing with.
Ok, when you play a development, do you have to pay the resource cost of the card? Or are you taking any card and placing it face down as a development?
If the latter is true, are you then unable to play the card anymore as anything but a development? It states in the rule book, "a player may look at his own developments (but not at his opponent's) at any time." This makes me think that you can still play the card after it's played as a development, otherwise being able to look at your developments doesn't matter.
-noob