Question "Negating damage"

By Crabble, in Mansions of Madness

Hi! My playgroup loves to play this game but we came up with a rule question where we could not agree on:

If the app tells you that "you suffer 1 damage and 1 horror (Will negates)" you obviously have to roll a will-check. If you roll 2 successes can you cancel both the damage and the horror or are you just able to negate the horror because the Will-check only relates to the horror part in such a sentence?

Thanks for helping us out, enjoy the game!

It's both the damage and horror.
A successful roll would allow you to avoid both.

Keep in mind that the convention per the RRG would be to have a "." between independent clauses. Since this sentence is a single clause, the skill check applies to any part of it.

Yeah I have also come across these and the way we have played it is 2 successes would negate one damage and one horror, for example.

You will see other cases like " you suffer one facedown damage and one facedown horror (will +1 negates). Then suffer one horror. " In those cases the last horror cannot be avoided I'd say.

That is correct because you complete each sentence ending in a "." before moving to the next. The skill check only applies to effefts in the sentence where it is embedded.

Interestingly you may see times where you would expect a ".", but a "," is used instead. This explicitly means that those effefts are a part of the same step.

Ok we have played it that way to but weren't sure. It makes sense that you would word it in 2 separate sentences if the investigator shouldn't be able to avoid damage/horror. Thanks guys!